Another eventful day & my last travel blog from Down Under!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
August 22nd 2007
Published: August 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well I spent all day Monday resting my ankle, which was very swollen & badly bruised. Was raging because I had planned to see and do so much. An girl from Sligo called Siun came into my room on Sunday night and it turns out she's on the same flights home as me. So yesterday we both got up really early to try to book onto a Blue Mountains tour. The early morning one was booked out so we ended up booking onto one that left at 10am. As it turned out we got to go with a deluxe tour because that your wasn't full.

We began with a boomerang demonstration & it really came back. Then we began our climb up into the mountains. We passed through some really pretty towns. Then we were taken to lots of lookouts. It was really beautiful but I think I've seen so many amazing things on this trip that I'm afraid I'll forget just how amazing they were and that I don't quite appreciate when I see truly beautiful things. We went for lunch in Mount Victoria. After lunch we stopped to look at the 3 sisters, at this point the fog was coming in. So by the time we went to scenic world where they have 3 rides down into and up out of the mountains the fog was thick and as you'll see from my photos we didn't really get to see much so the fear factor was curtailed at least.

We got the bus back towards Syndey where we stopped off at the Olympic Village - oh my god it was amazing, it was purpose built for the 2000 Olympics and is such a credit to Australia. Then we took a ferry back to Sydney, it was amazing to come in around Darling Harbour at night and to see the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House by night. We stopped off on the way home for a quick bite to eat and a drink to prepare us for the packing.

I went on the net to try to book a flight home from London on Thursday night and as I did I realised my credit card was missing. I swear drama seems to follow me on this trip. I spent hours on the phone last night and eventually got to bed at about 2.30am. I was up super early this morning to pack and because Siun and I are going out to Bondi and maybe to try to get a bit of shopping done.

So that's where I'm at, at the end of a highly eventful trip. I'm so happy I've done it, the things I've seen and done on this trip are indescribeable and the photos will never do them justice! I feel I've done enough of a stint backpacking, I can't wait to get home to my own bed, to a wardrobe, to really simple things, you do get really jaded living out of a bag and constantly packing and repacking. Of course I'm also excited to be catching up with everybody. I'm not looking forward to the nearly 36 hours of travelling ahead of me but it'll be nice to touch down in good old Ireland!!

So who knows where I'll be when next I write a travel blog....


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb