I've reached my final destination


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 18th 2007
Published: August 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I finally arrived in Sydney this morning after a long & boring drive from Brisbane. Yesterday I had a bit of a chilled out day and decided not to drive at all as I had done about 500 kilometres the previous day so I spent the day in Newcastle, not doing a huge amount. I had tried on Wednesday to change my flights home to avoid the Hong Kong stopover, but they said it wasn't possible because all the flights were booked up until September. Then I checked on the net yesterday and saw there were flights available any day next week, so I called again & they said those flights weren't available to them, so I was kind of resigned to spending some time in Hong Kong and even enquired about a hotel there. When I had a notion last night to try the London office, so I called my father & asked him to try it, now I'd say he's nearly demented from me over the past few hours, but my flights home are changed to leave Sydney next Wednesday night ( I would've been leaving Thursday morning otherwise) & I arrive in Heathrow on Thursday evening - the problem is I'm not sure I can get a flight home to Cork!

So I could barely sleep last night, cause I was so excited about Sydney & trying to plan how I'd get everything done in the little bit of time I've left here! I got up this morning early and drove to Sydney, as I came into the city I wasn't too sure where I was going so I just kept going straight, before I knew it I was driving on Sydney Harbour Bridge with the Opera House down to my left - I swear I nearly crashed!! So I dropped off my hire car and that's where I'm at now. I'm like a child in a sweet shop because there's just so much I want to see, not sure I'll manage to squeeze it all in but I'll do my best! So it's been a pretty boring blog but just to update ye as to where I'm at now - this time next week I should be home all going to plan!!!

Advertisement



18th August 2007

safe home and enjoy football on sunday
well Katie....dont know how you do all that driving .....stamina ......have a safe journey home and cant wait to catch up ....the weather here is still miserable but predictions are that it is going to pick up on wednesday.....bring it home with you........slan

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb