Gimme a Job!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Darlinghurst
November 24th 2005
Published: November 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

View from Kings Cross hostelView from Kings Cross hostelView from Kings Cross hostel

darn moth got in the way!!
Monday was job search day, so we all had to get our CV's shrunk down onto one page as advised by the BUNAC staff. We have the facilities of free internet and general computer services at the BUNAC office in central Sydney, thanks. I was dressed as well as i could be dressed with the limtied clothes I have brought with me and hit the streets of Sydney with a list of awesome bars from worldsbestbars.com. The first place I went to was right in Circular Quay next to the Opera house and looking directly at the Harbour bridge, wow! the bar was well nice inside all white with huge 8ft high windows some of which were just half so the air from the Harbour swept through the bar, very nice. I filled in an application form and gave them my CV and references. To the next bar.......... anyhoo, cut along story short I walked a hell of long way and went to a lot of bars the only thing to drive me on, on my mission and lots of walking was Buns of Steel!!!! everyday's a workout!
I got a phone call at 4ish saying they wanted me to start work on Friday at 6 at a place called Georges bar and grill (but I din't go to a bar of that name?!) Oh that's right Chris had put my mobile number of his CV cos he hasn't got an Ozzie Sim Card, cheers Chris! But then 2mins ofter that I got a call form the ECQ bar the one I described above, to go for a quick chat... right at the other end of Sydney, more walking, great!
When I got there, there was Limo's queueing outside (it's a hotel too) as the pre-drinks party for the final of Australian Idol were in the bar. I sat down for my little chat and who should walk through the bar but neighbours superstars Boyd, Dillon and Stingray, they're so short haha! wicked!!!! The interview thingy went pretty well and I am waiting to hear back fromt hem but they seemed quite keen to get me in there, with my vast experience???!
It's Thursday now, I spoke to them yesterday and they said they need to see where they can fit me in and will be in touch, i have kinda put all my eggs in one basket, but I really want to work there! it's beautiful!
Other than that we have changed hostels we moved to Kings cross yesterday which was seedy but had an amazing view from the roof where our room was. Now we are back in the centre at a pretty average place but is cheaper thatn the YHA we were in before. It's a bit annoying at the moment because we can't move around too much with jobs on the horizon. Col, Matt and Chris have all got trial shifts in the centre. I want to move to Bondi for a while next week before we settle into our apartment which we move into on the 3rd December... the beach in December, crazy! All is well but feel the need to settle down in the flat A.S.A.P.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb