Byron Bay.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
January 11th 2007
Published: January 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello followers of the Mattatour.

Left Sydney after final lovely meal in Circular Quay ($15 steak was brilliant) then got the half ten coach up to Byron Bay. It took 12 hours, and the American girl in front of me put her chair down from the start. I didn't really fit, but I did make a new friend, this time from Wales. I was in a very bad mood when I arrived in Byron, especially because although I thought I'd booked a hostel, I in fact hadn't. This was quite stressful as I had no idea who I'd given my card details to... And because Byron is currently insanely busy. That day once we'd checked in we went straight onto the beach (1 minute walk from the hostel) and I impressed the everyone with my boogie boarding. Weather was rubbish again so came home and had a sleep until we decided the time was right to go into Byron and get food and beers, which we ate and drank respectively. Went to a place called "Cheeky Monkeys" which was the most awful place in the world. Ever.

Next day, up, made two new friends who had turned up in our room by magic that morning, and the four of us teamed up with Raymond the big Norweigan to drive to a place called Nimbin which is near Byron and is a very hippie place to be. Lots of people were "chilling out" there and there were silly amounts of special cafes. I didnt go in though because whilst i'm having fun out here, I'm also staying safe.

Went to a big rockpool thing after that and kept nearly running over kangaroos. Photos are on facebook, including one of me jumping in from much higher than was expected.I made lots of new friends and then we all had a sangria party back at the hostel but was knackered so didnt go out after. Have been surfing (ish) this morning and got a bit of sun again as it's now boiling here, and think I may stay for another few days here and try and go up the coast with Paul, my current friend, who is from Birmingham. I may even meet someone from outside the UK soon.

Going to go for a cold beer now in order to cool down, and then spend the rest of the day lounging and pottering. Super.

Thank you people who send me messages and emails and stuff, it makes me feel loved.

Mattador

Advertisement



11th January 2007

G'day mate
Nice to hear that you are spreading your wings by making friends from all over the UK. Almost soretd out the final details of my Peru expedition, so will be in touch with final dates/action plans nearer the time for our much anticipated beer in Peru. Hope the suntan is now off the 'critical' list
12th January 2007

You are loved :-)
Alloha Monsieur Mattatour, Photos are fab, strange to think its really hot somewhere - its blowing a gale here! I'm following my dear sisters example and caught up on The Tour whilst off work ill! Also been watching Neighbours and Toady was in Sydney - just like you :-) Posted another comment earlier in wk but its still being moderated I think... Glad to hear to are staying safe - nice reassuring comment in there, to stop your mum worrying as you appear to be hurling yourself from high rocks elsewhere! Keep up the good work with the blogging and photos :-) lots of love, Cx

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.5kb