I have three friends all at the same time not even including me.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Surfers Paradise
January 14th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

True fact. So far my highest number of friends on the tour, although two of them are leaving tomorrow so back down to one. My last entry finished with me mentioning the possibility of lounging and pottering for the rest of the day, which I duly did. Went back to the hostel for a cheeky beer and then into town for a Subway dinner which was lovely. On completion of our dinner, went back to the hostel, had another beer and went straight to bed. Very very tired and quite pink (again). I've discovered actually that I'm utterly useless at putting suncream on. I randomly leave big patches of me out and am turning into a sort of patchwork of pink and white. Soon however the patches will merge, and I will become as brown as the proverbial berry.

Next morning was spent on the beach reading my book, which I finished, so that was nice.

I couldnt handle the sun anymore, so I gave up at lunchtime, although I should say that Byron is an awesome beach- the water is PROPER clear. You can see the fishes and everything. Even sharks (which again I realise are also fish). After a cold shower and lunch, I made some more friends and became involved in a volleyball tournament in the hostel that ran from 3-7 by the end, and was much fun. Shower, then we (Paul and I) ended up making friends with two swedish guys after a delightful dinner of beans on toast with a light cheddar garnish. Nutritious and delicious. Once we'd made friends and had a few beers and decided against going out, so went to watch a DVD. I don't remember either of their names, I suspect they were called Torsten and Jan. Or Sven. Or Ikea. Or Meatball. Probably Meatball actually.

Up early the next day to catch bus to Surfer's Paradise where I currently am. Watched a film called Posiden on the way, but it was rubbish so I didn't enjoy that very much.

Once I'd got to surfers I got off the bus to the news that time had gone backwards by an hour, which shocked me. Once I'd got over the shock, I got a little minibus to 'Trekkers', which was nice. Once I'd got to 'Trekkers' I got shown around, and it was pretty nice really, little pool, TV room etc. Decided to make some friends (Paul was on later bus so I was starting from scratch again), which I did succesfully over a few beers. That night turned out to be BBQ and club night, so in order to keep friends with everyone, and therefore stay safe, I was compelled to join in. Went to four clubs with all the other backpackers in the world I think, in the manner of an 18-30s bar crawl, which was hideous, but I coped. Music in bars in Australia is much better than in England, so I enjoyed a light dance (no worming) with my new friends. Got home about 4, which is very late.

Today, had lie in, weather was crap again so had dip in pool and read my book with a cup of tea god this is a boring sentence and waited for the others to get up. Went into town for lunch (Subway) and sat on the beach, which is ridiculously and unnecessarily huge. Returned to hostel, then went to giant shopping place called Australia Fair. Bought a phone, and a new book (I mentioned earlier that I had finished my old one so I replaced it with a new one so I have got something to read) as well as doing a food shop for the next few days. Then came here.

Plan for tomorrow is to beach in the morning, then sort out the rest of the month so I can do everything in the remaining 16 days. Realistically over a beer.

Peace, love and respect,

M@ador (genius)

PS there was a guy with long hair and lots of beads and his shirt off playing Banana pancakes by Jack Johnson on his guitar by the pool yesterday. I had to leave. I hate Jack bloody Johnson.

Advertisement



14th January 2007

Greetings
Have now got four days before i go away-i think shitting bricks is a fair assessment of how i feel and also totally under prepared. Souds like your havin a good one. When do you get into NEw Zealand? any details yet?

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb