Let's Try Again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
June 21st 2011
Published: June 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

It was the first day of summer. The golden sun was radiating over the gorgeous landscape of western Washington with not a cloud in the sky. The air was warm and pure and beckoned everyone to be outside. And the frustration of last Friday's failed hike was still haunting me as I looked east to the mountains. Driving back from a morning work assignment, I decided that I would play hooky, enjoy the perfect day and shake off this annoyance once and for all.

As I stated before, there were many lessons learned from the previous hike and I was going to adhere to it all. I bought bug repellant while at Wal Mart and grabbed plastic bags for anything electronic, including my new camera I purchased for my year of tramping that waited for me on my front porch that day. The other lessons learned I would hold fast to during the journey. Nothing was going to stop me today. When I set my mind to something, I accomplish it!

I drove to the Mt Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest whose ranger station is only seventeen miles from my house. Since the station was open, I decided to poke my head in the process of buying my day pass. The park ranger instructed me that Trail 707 - The Sunrise Mine Trail is one of the most difficult hikes in the park and was impassable due to the strong currents of the South Fork Stillaguamish River. I did not tell her that I knew all about that devilish river! Instead, her words made my objective that day even more of a challenge.

The river was still as wild as I remembered it. This time, however, I was well prepared and scouted a point to pass before strolling across a network of boulders and logs. Piece of cake! Now it was time to ascend up the trail of a rather steep mountain. My fitness is great, but with a 35-pound pack up a steep incline and rugged terrain, it can be tested. Not only that, but snow still on the side of the mountain hid the trail at points leading me to blaze my own until I came across it again.

After almost 1500 feet of vertical climb, I made it to the ridge between Morning Star and Sperry Peaks. This is the point where most people stop because the snow is so heavy that it is near impossible to continue. I, however, had a different idea. My work was not done because I saw another 900-foot ascent in front of me and a "little bit" of snow was not going to phase me. I put on my waterproof pants, gaiters, gloves and jacket, extended my trekking pole for optimal support and worked my way up. I wished that I brought my snow shoes due to the difficulty I had in just hiking boots. I had to get creative and point my hips perpendicular to my destination and climb sideways, using my pole as a constant third contact to the ground. Anytime newfound climbing form collapsed, I would easily slip and find myself sliding down. There were plenty of moments that I just wanted to let go and to slide back down, but I had a goal and was not going to leave again frustrated. At least I won't take those snow shoes for granted when I'm in the High Sierras next spring.

A few breaks and an hour and a half later, I made it as far as I could go! I was directly in between the two peaks at the highest point of the ridge. Now the fun part - What took me ninety minutes to go up only took ten down. With all my waterproof gear on and my pack as a counterweight, I landed on my backside and just let gravity take it from there. If meeting my goal to complete the full hike was not enough for me, the thrill of sledding down this long tall slope certainly made it worth it!

Finally, at the bottom of the slope, I found a peaceful place to sit and make a small meal while reading. I was at the edge of a cliff with the sound of small mountain streams flowing all around me, all the while having a perfect panoramic view of the Cascades and brisk cool air from the ridge running across my face. It was sitting there looking out at the moment when I realized my life is a bit loud. My mind has too much going through it. It was this austere instant I really longed for, the reason I hiked five strenuous miles up and down steep terrain and snowy slopes. After all, through the complexities we allow to take us in this life, it is the simplist of moments that we desire and ultimately remember most.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Where I failed lastWhere I failed last
Where I failed last

I tried to hop from boulder to boulder last time and fell at this point.


Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb