A Dangerous Way to Learn a Few Lessons


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
June 20th 2011
Published: June 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So as I do with running or biking, I am now in training for my long-distance hikes. It's a chance to carry my pack through rough terrain, embrace overnights outside in the fresh air, and learn lessons that will carry me to safety in my future endeavors. I went for an "overnight" hike on Friday and did I learn plenty of lessons to take with me. It was a major failure that only lasted a few hours because I put myself in unnecessary danger. A snow-fed rushing river changed my hike for the worst, and had I not been a bit lucky, it could have even claimed my life.

After about a mile down a challenging trail at Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest, I heard the rushing waters of the river that would later claim me. At first, instead of continuing down the maintained path, I decided to proceed down a steep, rocky hill that would take me straight to its banks. As I looked across, I could not see a trail, nor could I find a safe path across. Getting off the path was my first mistake. I decided to make an attempt to walk through the river, but had a minor slip suggesting it was not a safe idea. On top of that, I found out that waterproof hiking boots do work extremely well until water is able to make its way into the shoe over the ankle. At that point, water is not going to leave the inside of the shoe!

Instead of fretting, I decided to take a break, take my shoes and socks off, and enjoy the scenery over a drink, some trail mix, and a good book. After thirty minutes, I knew it was time to get back on track. The first order of business at this point was to get back on the trail. And while it was easy to slide down the steep hill, climbing it was another thing, especially with a 35-pound pack. Using the vegetation and tree trunks, I made it up the 50-foot hill and continued down the trail. Sure enough, the trail led to the banks at a point where I could see the trail on the other side. The only problem was that I did not immediately see a direct path across again. But I did see, what I thought of as, a viable one. It involved hopping from boulder to boulder, each just a step across away. But at the very end, I found myself more than just a step away to the end.

Knowing that I would have to make a small leap, the weight of my pack began to concern me. I decided that it would be a good idea to toss it across and then leap to the rock. I wish I had tied a rope to it; instead of landing safely on the last boulder, it bounced back and began to fall to the river. My natural instinct was to stop this from happening! Instead of rescuing my pack, I began to follow it down to the rushing waters that would take me about 50 to 60 feet through rocks and fallen trees that obstructed its path. I hit just about every part of my body from my bare feet to my ribs, but thank God, my head was unscathed. This did not necessarily make things well. I was literally scared for my life as I became subject to the mercy of the river until a cluster of larger rocks stopped me next to my soaked pack. Immersed in frigid waters, I quickly leaped up, grabbed the pack and sat on the bank on the other side of the river in utter shock.

Now it was time to inspect my equipment to see if my things got wet. Sure enough, just as waterproof shoes work as long as it doesn't make its way into the shoe through openings, water made its way into the top of the pack and everything was soaked! I took all of my equipment, clothing and sleeping bag out and laid it to dry when I looked down and saw my toes weren't doing so well. Two of my toes were facing sideways and my right big toe was bleeding profusely all over the rocky surface of the river bank. Knowing my balance working my way back to the original side of the river would be affected by these useless toes, I had to pop them back into place that second. It wasn't so hard because the shock I was still in kept me from feeling any pain. These appendiges easily went back into its natural form, however, the swelling began. I then took care of my big toe with my limited first aid kit. Because I did not have a band-aid large enough to cover all the skin that was peeled off, I put my cold wet socks and shoes on the protect it from the environment.

So a huge concern overcame me. How was I going to get back across? Not only did I not know of a clear path to the trail that would take me to my pickup, I was hurt and in a bit of shock. There was no choice, I had to leave my pack behind and begin scouting for an easy way across. Up river about 100 feet was where it was. A network of logs and boulders made it an easy trot across. Had I scouted more thoroughly before, this path would have kept me safe and onto the rest of my journey. I went back to claim my equipment and pack and headed for the easy crossing.

It was not as easy as it should have been. The pain in my toes, knees, hip and ribs began to set in taking away my balance and ability to hike. My hiking pole came into great use on the way back to my truck as I used it for leverage anytime there was an incline or decline along the trail. Soon enough, I was back to my pickup. I set my pack down and took a much-needed breather to collect myself before driving home. At home, I took a nice hot bath and began pondering my next hike and how it would be much different.

You see, what I faced scared me at the moment, but doesn't leave me scared to try again. I'm a man and I think deep in our souls, we long for a little bit of danger. Nothing is going to stop me from my future journey and I have to prepare effectively for it. Instead of seeing my failed hike as a deterrence, I saw it as a teachable moment. Many lessons were learned, particularly when dealing with risk while alone in the wilderness. Let me share some of the lessons (even minor ones) that I wrote down along the way:

1) Bring bug repellent - Mosquitos are annoying.
2) I only need one hiking pole - Having two left no hand free and made it more difficult for me up and down inclines.
3) Stay on the trail!!
4) A 35-40 pound backpack adds more mass, changes my center of mass, and makes me less mobile.
5) Do not hesitate to set the pack down and scout thoroughly, if necessary.
6) Waterproof shoes work well, especially when the water gets inside the shoe.
7) Take no unnecessary risks, especially when alone!
8) Put all electronics and other battery powered devices in a plastic sealed bag.
9) Carry a first aid kit with a larger inventory.
10) Don't let failures deter you - Learn from them instead!

Again, I'm a fighter who never lets down on a challenge. My adventure will continue and that moment, when I fell off the rock and at the control of the strong forces of the rushing waters, only made me more determined.

(I apologize, but my collection of amazing photos along the trail was taken away when my phone, which acts as my camera, fell victim to the river.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb