Northeast Trip - Green Mountains


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont
August 12th 2013
Published: September 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

More photos at: Picasa



Today I moved on to the Green Mountains in Vermont. My string of bad luck finding the trail continued, with a twist. This time I couldn't (and never did) find the trailhead, but I was able to use a different nearby trailhead to get where I wanted to go. My first hike was to Rattlesnake Cliff. Rather than looking into the mountains, this vista actually looks west over a lake and the flat land beyond (and, eventually, the Adirondacks). Apparently there is also a larger south facing cliff, but I never saw the trail fork to reach it. On the way down I also took a bunch of pictures of Lana Falls, a series of impressive drops, some of which took a bit of climbing and rock hopping to reach.

After that, I headed north to make the short hike to Silent Cliff. It has an impressive south view into the mountains, partially overlooking the Middlebury College Snow Bowl. The silence was overstated though, especially when there are Harley's around.

My last hike of the day was just a bit further down the road at Texas Falls. The falls is a series of (relatively) short, narrow, pool drops in a very tight canyon, so it took a bit of careful footwork to get where I needed to be to get the pictures I wanted.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb