Out Last Night


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Nashville
June 14th 2009
Published: June 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After sleeping off yesterday’s fun, I took a walk around parts of Vanderbilt University, which is just blocks from the hostel. I wondered around aimlessly and eventually came across a place called Calypso that Falkenberg recommended for food. The rotisserie chicken’s not bad.

After lunch, I took a drive out to see the Grand Ole Opry house. There wasn’t a whole lot to see there other than the grounds (which are huge) and the Opry museum. The museum was entertaining but would be more exciting to a long time country music fan. I didn’t recognize most of the artists that were featured in the museum. The actual Opry house was closed so I couldn’t see much of that (which is why I went out there). They do tours but weren’t doing them that day. Perhaps it was because it was Sunday.

Later in the afternoon, I played to my skills and went downtown for more live music and cheap beer. After a few rounds, I went to grab lunch at a brew pub, which turned out to be a sister restaurant of the one I was at in Charlotte. I met a young couple from Atlanta who were also there for the festival. We shot the breeze for a bit, until I left to have a couple more PBRs at Tootsie’s, which had quickly become my favorite honky tonk.

On my way, I was distracted by the Marine Corps’ setup (mainly a tank). I went over to check it out and noticed a pullup bar, which they were using for a contest. All liquored up and full from lunch, I decided this would be an opportune time to participate. I hadn’t really worked out in weeks so I was pretty happy when I banged out 10. This won me a hat. The hat disappeared later on. It was not worth it when lunch almost worked itself back out afterwards. I am dumb.

When I made it there, Tootsie’s had the same band playing this afternoon as it did yesterday. The girl on fiddle was on her game and got the crowd all fired up.

I had one round there then finally met up with Lauren Sahd and her friends. They were at Wild Horse Saloon, another Falkenberg favorite. We caught up for a bit and the girls did a little line dancing. I stayed put. This was not going to turn into another Wild Wild West episode.

Finally, it was time to head out to the highlight - the final night of the CMA Festival. After getting a few beers at LP field (the Titans' stadium), we parted ways. They went to their seats in the end zone across from the stage and I began my hike to the nosebleeds. After about 15 steps, I reconsidered and followed them down to their seats. When they sat down, I kept going, eventually parking myself in the third row.

About 15 minutes later, a couple came to claim their seats. I let them know that I worked for the stadium as a seat filler for the event taping and to enjoy the show. I had my schtick down pat. I was ready. Thank you Cosmo Kramer for the idea.

After the first performer, I went to grab another beer and upgrade my seat. I ended up around the 50 yard line in the lower section with the stage to my right. This was much better. I spent most of the night there, enjoying the music and conversing with some of the other patrons. There was an older man sitting two seats down to my left (he was retired brewery worker), some teenagers in front of me and a blind couple behind me. I made friends with all of them quickly. They were some die harders.

I’m not sure how this started but towards the end, when Sugarland was on, I ended up dancing with the blind folks. The girl was quite frisky.

I was in need of another beer so I went after Sugarland’s performance. On my way back, I had walked down the wrong aisle, ending up a section closer to the stage. Kenny Chesney was just starting so I just decided to give myself another upgrade. After all, I earned it. I was working for the stadium. I stopped once I got down to the front row. Flying solo has its advantages.

Kenny’s performance started around midnight and I think he played about 5 songs. The crowd was really into it, which meant he got even wilder up on stage. He’s quite a performer. The crowd really loved Out Last Night and She Thinks My Tractor’s Sexy. After his encore, fireworks went off to end the event.

A short walk back into the main part of town and in search of another beer (purely unnecessary at this point) and some food placed me at the bar of one restaurant. While I was there, I was talking to a girl who appeared to be my age. I mentioned I was originally from Pennsylvania. She said she went to college in Pennsylvania but it was a relatively unknown state school in the middle of nowhere. This girl went to Shippensburg and was one class behind me. I had no idea who she was. I think she said she was an education major. She didn’t know Swartz. That’s the only name I could come up with at the time. I don’t remember her name.

Tomorrow I leave Nashville for St. Louis. I’m going to miss Nashville. I would love to come back here again. It’s my kind of town.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb