Serenity


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
June 15th 2009
Published: June 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The trip up to St. Louis today was about as uneventful as they come. It was only a few hours plus a quick stop at Fort Campbell on the Tennessee/Kentucky border. I didn’t realize that I’d be driving by Fort Campbell, home of the Screaming Eagles. There’s supposed to be a museum that I tried to find but never did. So it became a brief detour.

Along the way I got to thinking how peaceful it’s been driving in these parts of the country. I’ve heard less horn honking in the last three weeks than I would in any given hour in New York City. When I get back, I’m going to sit on my roof and throw bricks at the impatient a-holes who think laying on the horn will magically make the traffic disappear.

I got into St. Louis around 4:00 pm and swung by the hostel. I had read that this one was a bit shady so I went to check it out first. The reviews were right and I opted to go the cheap hotel route.

I tried booking a room at a Best Western for the next couple nights when my Blackberry’s battery died. I showed up there and they wanted to charge me an extra $60 because my online reservation didn’t go through. It’s amazing how much you can save online. They allowed me to setup shop in the lobby and try to book online again. It’s a bit odd why they couldn’t just match the rate but I guess that marketers fall in the category of confusing people that tick me off.

I went out to a district known as The Loop to get dinner. The Loop is section of town which has numerous restaurants and retail shops. I found one called Blueberry Hill (which I think is well known among tourists) and had another nutritious meal - a burger and onion rings. I have had more bad food in the last three weeks than over the last two years.

Tomorrow I’m touring parts of St. Louis in the rain. Hopefully the ballgame doesn’t get rained out.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb