Oh Suite, we're at the hotel!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Hershey
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Location: Hershey, PA - specifically, we are in our hotel room at the SpringHill Suites both in our beds watching Jay Leno
Blogger: Katie
Arrival at hotel: 11:08pm
Miles traveled Day One: 409
Highways Travelled: 9

So DJ is too tired to blog but he loves you all. He had originally planned on blogging about his criticisms about this blog program and all of the features that it should have. I told him that he should market it and sell it (his new one).

We're watching the Headlines and it's pretty hilarious. So yay.

Things to note about the hotel room. The toilet paper in the bathroom is way too far from the toilet. There was also an ant in the bathtub, which DJ informs me was a small cockroach. That's disturbing, but it reminds me of Jamaica. When we were staying at the rectory in Jamaica, we had to beware of insects because the place was both inside and outside at the same time. There were several small cockroaches.

SO I've realized that I've become acclimated to blogging over the course of the trip because everytime that something happens I think: "I should blog about that!"

DJ's pretty amped that his cell phone gets wi-fi. He's too good for the TVs in the room so he's watching TV on his phone.

I also realized that I didn't watch the Tony Awards yesterday, and that makes me sad, because I've been gearing up for them. But DJ and I didn't get to start packing until like 8pm because we were at the hospital forever. By that point I'd forgotten that the Tony Awards were on. Here's hoping that the DVR pulled through and recorded it like I'd instructed it too a while ago. I'll check it out when I get home.

Something to note that happened during the last leg of our trip after pulling off of the highway in Hershey:
Katie: "That's a very spaced out graveyard"
DJ: "I guess not as many people die in Hershey"

So far Day One has been a great day. It certainly is more exhausting than one would think to sit in a car for hours. I think that tomorrow DJ will be updating more as I'm first on driving and I'll probably drive for a while. We will be on I-81 for 431 Miles. Ridiculous. We will also be seeing a whole lot of nothing. Oh goodie.

We may just very well go to Hershey Park tomorrow. Either way, my main requirements are that I have to buy a hershey bar here.

Things I learned about Hershey while reading the pamphlets I got from the lobby:
Hershey Park is 100 years old and when first created it was a picnic spot and hershey bars were 5 cents.
We just missed the Eastern National Gun, Knife and Military Collectibles Show & Sale. Chocolate and Guns. Darn.

I'm the kind of person that just enjoys spending time with people, so it's nice to just be spending a lot of quality time with DJ. I just like knowing that someone else is sharing the same space as me. It's also pretty great that he's my brother, and he's great. Thanks to everyone for the comments, the text messages, subscriptions, IMs, calls, etc.


Advertisement



12th June 2007

I watched TV on my computer all night, rather than the TV right next to me. It's nice to know that other people are as silly as me.
12th June 2007

Glad you made it
Sounds like a fun time! Always wanted to go to Hershey. Can you tour the real factory? Do they give out samples? To they serve somores? Love Ya! Keep on singing!!!
12th June 2007

Printing things out
Hi Ho Travellers - Pretty funny the comments on the BLOGG. I may never be able to watch TV again here (tech overload!) but I am chuckling about your comments and will print them out for Nanny so she can read them too. Love Ya!
12th June 2007

I-81
Seth and I drove to Tennessee earlier this year, and we were on I-81 for 547 miles. It IS boring, but once you get into the midwest, the speed limit bumps up to 70 mph, so it goes faster. They did that so you wouldn't kill yourself of boredom. Safe driving!
12th June 2007

Was that Willie Nelson we just passed??????
Sounds like you are going the northern route. Make sure you have Black Eyed Peas once you cross the MD line. Its good luck! Safe journey folks. Enjoy the ride.
12th June 2007

Congrats!
Congrats on making it through your first day!! I was unaware that a blog had been made until last night, at which point I was too preoccupied and tired to check it out. But it gave me something to do during the day today at work since I don't really do anything. Glad to hear you guys are having fun and can't wait for the next installment!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb