Finishing the Freedom Trail


Advertisement
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
A Most Uninteresting ParkA Most Uninteresting ParkA Most Uninteresting Park

Someone doesn't like Fun...it was near my brother's apartment in Medford
So this morning I learned that my brother makes AMAZING omelets! It was the first morning he's had enough time for anything except work. We decided to finish the Freedom Trail together and then try to fit in Lexington and Walden Pond also. Across from the bus stop, was a park marked off as a historical landmark. You can find pockets of history anywhere in Boston!

Before we reached the trail he showed me the Holocaust Monuments noting the names, inscriptions, quotes, and reflective architecture. And right in the middle of the monument, to my amazement, stood one of my friends, Parker, from the Shangai Study Abroad trip I took last summer. He couldn't believe it either - what were the odds! He was in Boston for a day waiting on his flight to Europe for his graduation vacation. My brother and I continued toward the trail and crossed the bridge hitting our first major destination - the USS Constitution. It was in the process of being re-finished to be presented at next years Independence Day celebration. I got a few pictures of the unpainted/original parts of the ship which is cool. The USS Constitution is oldest floating warship in
Pockets of HistoryPockets of HistoryPockets of History

We found this sign in the park we stumbled upon in Medford - it's crazy how anywhere you go in Boston you come across random sites (preserved or not) filled with history!
the world! There's a petite museum on the way to the ship that's worth a little time before the last checkpoint.

At the security checkpoint, I was amazed for the second time to be recognized by a complete stranger in Boston. I don't remember his name, but a guard working recognized me as the guy who was breakdancing in the subway station the other day (which I did do...I was bored and the train was taking a long time, yea, I wasn't trying to show off or anything)! We spoke briefly on tourist sights and hip-hop culture and then my brother and I hurried to the ship. We did not want to wait for an official tour so we just visited the deck instead of getting access to the interior. After taking enough pictures, I made my visit official by busting a few headspins on the deck.

Next was the Bunker Hill Monument. Quick summary - loud kids, tight space, horrible Forever Young summary heard sung, lots of stairs, cool breeze, terrible smell, view not worth it all. With all those stairs behind us, we started heading back to his apartment to jump in the car to Lexington,
Holocaust MonumentsHolocaust MonumentsHolocaust Monuments

Somber and meaningful quotes that serve as strong reminders
grabbing some delicious smoothies and chocolate malts along the way at a shop a little before the bridge.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Me and Parker!!Me and Parker!!
Me and Parker!!

I absolutely cannot believe that I ran into this friend in Boston - I've only seen him once or twice since Shanghai, haha!!
Nice Little WalkwayNice Little Walkway
Nice Little Walkway

Heading toward Washington Street
USS ConstitutionUSS Constitution
USS Constitution

Oldest Warship in the world still afloat today!
USS Constitution Paint JobUSS Constitution Paint Job
USS Constitution Paint Job

You can see a little of the actual wear and tear on it where they haven't finished painting yet!
View from the Top of The Bunker Hill MonumentView from the Top of The Bunker Hill Monument
View from the Top of The Bunker Hill Monument

There were way too many people just chilling at the top (some that needed more deodorant, ha) - though I guess it is a bit of tiring walk up all those stairs
Both of us in front of Bunker HillBoth of us in front of Bunker Hill
Both of us in front of Bunker Hill

After conquering the stairs! Though they nothing compared to Huashan or Huangshan


Tot: 0.434s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.3761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb