Newbury Street and Prudential Tower


Advertisement
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Expensive Shop Along Newbury StreetExpensive Shop Along Newbury StreetExpensive Shop Along Newbury Street

Similar shops line the street with clerks in full B&W suit attire just waiting to take your money...I mean assist you formally
My Granary Cemetery visit actually took place the second time I visited the park, however I clumped in the ealier entry for convenience. At the close of my first visit of Boston Commons, I took the western exit toward Newbury Street looking for the Newbury Comic Store (never found), art galleries (only one interested me enough to go in), the public library, and a wine store called Best Cellars (supposed to have free tasting!). The walk was leisurely enough until I started trying to find specific shops and began to notice how cold it actually was with little sun and going back and forth a few times to get my orientation right. It was unimaginably windy; luckily I had my kick-ass lined jacket to fight it off. The streets and sidewalk were in great condition, one of the higher end shopping districts...probably why I didn't end up buying anything.

I was lured into a colorful candy shop by its trendy appearance, extremely 90's pop music, and warmth I guess. One of the girls working was cute (even by candy shop standards) but I'm not one to hit and run. I managed to keep my sugar-tooth in check and after checking my map, headed back into the cold to find Boston's Public Library. All the clothing shops seemed to have at least one attendant standing at the front, clad in a business suit, just staring with fake smiles behind glass-paned doors not even attempting to look inviting. I had to stop myself once, I couldn't see one for this one store on the corner after about 5 seconds of searching only to quickly realize I was staring right at one hidden in the glare! I had to pass by the store again to cut back, but tried to avoid the staff's eye. An art store with one awesome superman painting pulled me in and I playfully investigated it, snapping a few pictures and every now and then trying to comprehend the true mastering behind the works...perhaps to some avail, though I was expecting some form of disclaimer against me taking pictures, but it never happened.

After a few wrong turns and several times of walking blocks to confirm street names, I reached the public library! It was a Stalinist building, impressive in size but very plain, unadorned, and without distinguishing architectural features. The inside was not much different. There were
Superman!Superman!Superman!

Me want
some simple impressionist art posted up and also an original copy of Frederick Douglas's novel. In the basement, I finally found a restroom - home to at least two homeless people at the time it appeared. There was a wall with music history downstairs and some religious-looking face-in-the-wall boards.

All the walking had reminded me of my hunger, and upon my brother's suggestion, I stopped at a Legal Seafood Inc at the foot of Prudential Tower. I had a haddok with some fantastic bread and decent caesar salad - the swordfish was compelling but $10 more. Using the signs I managed to find the Prudential Center without any problems. On the way up in the elevator I could actually feel my ears pop - though I've been on a higher elevator ride back in Shanghai still! Although an event blocked the western view, the Prudential Tower still provided some great scenes of the city, especially of the river and islands - wish I could've stayed later to see the night view.

Hurrying to find the nearest T-Station, I found Best Cellars! I got a short lesson on wine and two, free, tiny glasses. A pleasant construction detour shot some anxiousness into me, but it only took me 5 seconds to see the other entrance to the green line was just across the other street. I made it back in time just to catch my brother heading home looking for dinner. We decided to try Snappy Sushi and enjoyed a delicious variety of seafood accented with warm sake - better even than hot apple cider on a cold night! I had read somewhere about a local bar, Johnny D's, hosting trivia night but wasn't sure the day so we drove over anyways and showed up right on time. We even got there earlier to enjoy MORE food - FREE PIZZA! Johnny D's appears to host trivia every Monday at 8:30pm. While waiting for the game to start an elderly man named Dick (pretty accurate) asked to join our team. We reluctantly agreed and although he saved us on 2-3 questions, his company was anything but fun or comfortable. I remember he said he was from Boston, born and raised (surprising had no accent), and enjoyed opera, expensive plays, and some art stuff, and how he commented that Boston was one of the cities in the nation for cultural freaks
Colorful Candy ShopColorful Candy ShopColorful Candy Shop

Playing some rocking 90's pop music
but that's about it. Oh and SILLY PUTTY !!!!!!! I knew one answer! Though we got pretty close to last, everyone else had way too many people or used Iphones...


The next entry is actually "Harvard Square and Museum of Natural History" - hyperlink


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The Original?The Original?
The Original?

At the Boston Public Library
Don't make me slap a B%@#$!Don't make me slap a B%@#$!
Don't make me slap a B%@#$!

Found in the basement of the Boston Public Library
Prudential Tower View2Prudential Tower View2
Prudential Tower View2

Great view of the Charles River trailing into Boston


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb