City Walk and Granary Graveyard


Advertisement
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Zakim Bridge and Charles River BridgeZakim Bridge and Charles River BridgeZakim Bridge and Charles River Bridge

One of the few long bridges I've walked on! The view was pretty good
Upon straying from the Freedom Trail, I was surprised to stumble upon a college seemingly hidden amongst Boston's several alleyways. I cannot recall the name (something like Staniford), but I wondered what it'd be like to live in dormitories only an alley away from your classes - might be a little safer I guess. I took Causeway Street headed to Boston Commons and observed pedestrians following signals just a smidge better than in Atlanta, but a few bolder ones were worse and risked theirs and others lives just strolling across busy streets. The city appears to have only a minimal amount of smog - hazy every now and then - still allowing the beautiful blue skies to provide a fantastic contrast to all the red brick building and architectured skylines. I would recommend, if you have time, to take this path or just to stop at the South end of the Zakim Bridge and face the Boston skyline to briefly enjoy this beautiful view.

While approaching the bridge I was lucky enough to witness the placement of a brand new statue! One commemorating Bobby Orr for his record goals in hockey - my sister would have been jealous. Taking a suggestion from another tourist, I decided to hit the Granary Graveyard before visiting the park again.

At the Northeast end of Boston Commons, you'll find Granary cemetery, a resting place to several historic figures including Benjamin Franklin, John Hancock, Paul Revere, and The Fighting Armstorngs! I learned the technical term for the symbol of a skull with wings or crossbones usually adorning Tombstones as "Death's Hands". Several tourists placed pennies and other coins on Paul Revere's grave while a few had dropped flowers and flags. You canNOT miss the Benjamin Franklin monument - it's the main attraction sitting right in the center and deservedly so.



If you want to follow the correct order of my visit, the next link is "Boston Commons" - hyperlink


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

One of My Favorite Views of BostonOne of My Favorite Views of Boston
One of My Favorite Views of Boston

Looking South of the bridge
Bobby OrrBobby Orr
Bobby Orr

Saw the statue cemented in! Famous Hockey Player
Weird StreetWeird Street
Weird Street

Near a college hidden in the city...Staniford or Stainford University - surprised I just stumbled upon it!
Benljamin Franklin's MemoriaBenljamin Franklin's Memoria
Benljamin Franklin's Memoria

In Granary Graveyard
Paul Revere's Memorial and Grave Paul Revere's Memorial and Grave
Paul Revere's Memorial and Grave

Pounds of change and flowers in front


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb