Boston Commons Park and Swans' Not So Tender Love


Advertisement
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Fried Dough? EwFried Dough? EwFried Dough? Ew

Ain't got nothing on Funnel Cakes!!
At first view of Boston Commons Park, it appeared average in size but I was glad to find out later that I had been deceived. The park has two sections, one has a large pond and the Boston Monument...while the other is slightly smaller and has a puddle and a "Tadpole Playground" with Kermit the Frog sitting atop its sign. You can guess which was the first one I saw, ha.

I trekked over to the larger section after finding the Granary Graveyard on my second visit and discovered one of the best views of Boston facing the Western skyline of the city from atop the hill with the Boston Memorial. There were several locals walking dogs, suntanning, and few frisbee enthusiasts. The flaura, while artistically trimmed and aesthetically arranged, was not overly colorful; however the trees surrounding the pond were beautiful and it was relaxing to watch the swans and geese play. I saw two little girls giggling while feeding some ducks and couldn't help but recall my parents taking us to do the same when we were little...and my sister getting chased viciously by one swan! After snapping a few pictures (and having to trust a few people with my camera), I decided to head back.

I passed by a fountain under construction during my first visit leaving toward the nearest T-Station and noted how while Boston has a little less construction on the roads than Atlanta, it's probably replaced by repairs/remodeling on buildings and public structures! I also passed by a "Fried Dough" stand which I laughed at (quietly of course) and did not give a second thought. The allure for "Fried Dough" for tourists and park goers pales in comparison to other forms flour delectables such as friggin Funnel cakes!

At the Northeast end of Boston Commons, you'll find Granary cemetery, a resting place to several historic figures including Benjamin Franklin, John Hancock, Paul Revere, and The Fighting Armstorngs! I learned the technical term for the symbol of a skull with wings or crossbones usually adorning Tombstones as "Death's Hands". Several tourists place pennies and other coins on Paul Revere's grave while a few had dropped flowers and flags. You will not be able to miss the Benjamin Franklin monument - it's the main attraction sitting right in the center and deservedly so.



I clumped together both of my Boston Commons visits
Broken tadpole playgroundBroken tadpole playgroundBroken tadpole playground

In Boston Commons
in this entry but if you would like to follow the actual order of my visit, the next entry is "Prudential Tower" - hyperlink



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Construction/MaintenanceConstruction/Maintenance
Construction/Maintenance

Boston has about as much construction on public statues as Atlanta has on roads!
My Bro's Fav View of BostonMy Bro's Fav View of Boston
My Bro's Fav View of Boston

From the hill in Boston Commons - might be my favorite view too!
Swan BoatSwan Boat
Swan Boat

...lame, pond isn't big enough
Cute girls feeding the ducksCute girls feeding the ducks
Cute girls feeding the ducks

I remember when we used to do this as kids!
Swans doing the nastySwans doing the nasty
Swans doing the nasty

...looked more like the top one was trying to drown the other one though


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb