Channeling Oscar & Austin on New Year’s


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Idaho » Boise
January 4th 2011
Published: January 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

AdamAdamAdam

Does a great "Mack the Knife"...knows that it is my favorite.
As in de la Renta and Powers…I kid you not! This New Year’s Eve was riotously fun and delicious. In the company of good friends (Dave, Stephanie, Jill, and Cindy) we went to the annual bash hosted by Le Coq Rouge. This is the #1 restaurant in Boise. It is a French country-style eatery that will knock your socks off. If you are coming to, or just passing through Boise, Idaho, you owe it to yourself to dine at this restaurant.
The menu is limited with usually no more than 5 – 6 appetizers and 8 – 10 entrees. Depending on what is seasonally available, some items appear at various times and only a handful of them are regular items on the menu. I’ve had a variety of dishes and have never been displeased by what I selected. I especially like their preparation of frogs’ legs and escargot appetizers and it is a tossup between their osso bucco and rabbit (these show up periodically on the menu) for a main dish. Their wine selection is not large but outstanding. I would be amazed if anyone couldn’t find something to their liking.
Sooooo…..late in November Beth & I were there with friends
ZackZackZack

One of the sous chefs...very talented
celebrating our anniversary and my birthday when the chef came by and told us to come to their annual Christmas and New Year’s Eve bashes. We couldn’t make the Xmas Eve bash but did commit to the New Year’s Eve date.
It was a blast. I saw lots of familiar faces and met some new folks. Two of the funniest episodes involved being mistaken for Oscar de la Renta and being compared to Austin Powers. The evening started at 8PM and during lulls (and new bottles of vino popped open) I went around and visited with some of the folks I’ve previously met while dining there.
I was standing by our table when an older handsome woman came up to me, “My friends and I have been observing you from across the room and wondering who you are. One of them thinks that you are Oscar de la Renta.” She continued, “I am now 71 and I’m not just going to sit and watch. I told them that I was going to come and talk to you.” I was positively charmed!
We chatted for a while and she told me that she was happy to be out that night because
The sous chefsThe sous chefsThe sous chefs

feeding forty is a ferocious task
her husband had come out even though his health was quite frail. What particularly touched me was that she really wants to travel and see more of Italy (my most favoritest country ) but can’t because of present circumstances. She invited me to come over to their table and meet her friends and hear more about my adventures. After a few minutes (and a wine glass refresher) I headed over to their table. On the way over I saw that she was doing a sort of group dance with another couple so I immediately took her up and started dancing with her. She told me that she had been dying to dance. See!? It is never too late to cut loose and have fun.
When I came back to the table, Beth and my friends immediately informed me that while I out and about one of the other guests at our table had made a humorous comment. After observing all that had transpired, he had blurted out, “Who is this guy? Austin Powers?” To which Jill had replied, in her best Austin Powers voice, “Yeah, baby!” Thank God I have fun friends who know how to have fun!!! Its all
Valeryan & IValeryan & IValeryan & I

Best damn waiter on the planet...especially because he knows what I like!
just very groovy…baby!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Party timeParty time
Party time

is always a great time with friends
LindaLinda
Linda

wife of the chef and also knows my taste in wines and always suggests the right one.
menu for the nightmenu for the night
menu for the night

"white" is the theme
The ChefThe Chef
The Chef

Franck is a genius with sauces!
A kindred spiritA kindred spirit
A kindred spirit

Jeff and I grew up in small Idaho towns...and escaped to better food and fun.
Shaking a textShaking a text
Shaking a text

or taking a photo of having fun...take your pick.
Playing throughPlaying through
Playing through

but stopping for a refresher glass
The ladies getting litThe ladies getting lit
The ladies getting lit

and its only halfway through the evening!
Jamie & JillJamie & Jill
Jamie & Jill

Both are from the same little town of Cambridge and haven't seen each other in years...what a small world.
To Austin Powers!To Austin Powers!
To Austin Powers!

Drinking to my health.
Vintage hatVintage hat
Vintage hat

It is a cool hat.
Looking like a movie starLooking like a movie star
Looking like a movie star

from the 40's or 50's...very stylish.
Lets congaLets conga
Lets conga

with Val!
Yikes we're going outsideYikes we're going outside
Yikes we're going outside

Help! I've been caught in a conga line and can't get out!
Armed & Ready to PartyArmed & Ready to Party
Armed & Ready to Party

Dave armed for the countdown.
Getting our groove onGetting our groove on
Getting our groove on

C-e-l-e-b-r-a-t-e...come on!
Woohoo!!!Woohoo!!!
Woohoo!!!

Saturday night fever on New Year's Eve.


4th January 2011

I had it wrong; I thought they thought you were Ricardo Mantalban! Was a good time! So let's cook up some rabbit!
4th January 2011

Oscar & Austin
I actually have two very fat rabbits in the freezer just crying out to be eaten. How about a preparation similar to the Morroccan Chicken dish that you do? It also sounds like your wine collection is getting a bit overcrowded and needs some space created. I am just the person to help you do that :-)

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb