On the corner of Walk and Dont Walk somewhere down US1


Advertisement
Published: April 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I survived it. A full day of drunken debauchery and I dont even have a hangover. I guess if I have learned anything over the years, its drink lots water while drinking lots of Rum. And Tequila. Yep. Daqs and Margs were the drinks of the day. The battery operated blender worked like a charm.
Finding the arena was a breeze thanks to Tom the GPS. Parking was $20 and incredibly unorganized. But that worked in our favor since we had a huge gap on one side of us. We got there around noon after stopping at WalMart for supplies. Which included a throw away grill to cook Bubba burgers on. Our beach umbrella kept the sun off of us for most of the day. But I knew as it dropped we would have no shade. Luckily with our empty space next to us and my Jeeps ability to turn on a dime, I was able to spin it around a keep shade on us for the rest of the afternoon. Somehow I still managed to burn my face and neck. Best tan line ever around my bald head where my bal cap was on.
I should note, I never go to WalMart. I find it to be the trashiest place on the planet. WPB is obviously no exception. So we got what we wanted and needed and got the hell out. A group of West Virginia Hillbillys stopped me in the parking lot asking if there any good golf courses around. I told them I wasnt local but since IT IS WEST FREAKING PALM BEACH I was pretty sure there were. They mistook my Florida plates for being local. When I told them I was just in town for a concert, they asked if it was Jimmy and told us they were going also. They informed us they "will be the 3 drunk rednecks acting crazy". Its good to know there will only be 3 of them. But since we saw a drunk, crazy acting, rednecks every time we turned around, those guys must have been quick. They were everywhere.

(I had to stop writing at that point. We are now home, but I'll try to finish what I remember of the rest of the trip.)

Everyone tailgating was great. We walked all over the parking areas. It seemed like everyone was old friends. With all that booze flowing so early in the day I just knew there would be fights or something. But there wasnt. The only unhappy drunk I encountered was during the concert in the stands. This drunk little old bitch bought seats on the last row and then wanted everyone in front of her to sit down so she could see while she was sitting down. My wife and I are both very tall and I do feel a little bad having to stand so I can see. But this bitch wanted to sit through the whole show. Her boyfriend or husband or whatever told me she couldnt see because we were standing. But everyone in front of us was standing also. Since he was quite a bit smaller than me and his wife was a stupid bitch, i had no sympathy for him. I basically told him too bad. I stayed standing and went out of my way to stand a little longer even when the crowd in front of me had sat down.
We had a great crowd parked around us. The truck next to us hadnt really planned for tailgating in the sun. So we, and the couple on the other side of them took care of them. The other couple were obviously parents. The woman kept bringing food over to us. It was great. We saw that going on all over the parking areas.
The concert itself was great. Jimmy didnt fall off the stage. It went on for over 2 hours ending with just him on the stage with a guitar closing with Tin Cup Chalice, one of my all time favs. He didnt do anything off of his last album, which surprised me. He did Margaritaville in the middle of the show and then took a break while one of his back up singers sang a couple of her songs.
We had planned to hang in the parking lot after the show for a bit. But it looked pretty easy to get out, so we left right away. Stopped at taco Bell and then the hotel.

Sunday I had to unload everything out of the car from tailgating so I could repack everything with our luggage. I do impress myself with how much I can pack into our little Jeep. Once it was loaded, we rode back over to the beach. It was surprisingly crowded for easter sunday morning. After taking a few more pictures we got on the rode for home.
The ride home was uneventful and after a stop at Outback Steakhouse a couple blocks from our place for dinner, we made it home with no problems.

Now to start planning the next trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb