The Chicken Dance


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tallahassee
February 10th 2009
Published: February 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

I wear sunglasses so you can't tell if I blink.
I was hoping to get some sleeping-in happening today, but it didn’t work out so well. Craig wanted us up and advancing as soon as there was daylight. We found a happy medium, but I was still up earlier than I would have hoped. Got a bit of work done, and then Sharye joined us and we headed to lunch. Today was my very first ever Chick-Fil-A experience! It’s a fast food joint all over the East, Midwest and South and is famous for it’s chicken sandwich. They also are all about community involvement and things- a pretty cool company. Beyond that, they’re Christian-owned, and they decided when they started that they were going to observe the Sabbath regardless of what it cost them, so none of their stores are open on Sunday, yet they still turn quite the profit. Anyway, I got a chicken sandwich and their fresh-squeezed lemonade along with some waffle fries and thoroughly enjoyed myself. (As I look back on my blog, it seems like it is becoming a food tour of the country. Lots of comments on restaurants from around the States.)

Then we headed to Amanda’s host family’s house. They offered to have us over an allowed us to use their mountain bikes and things. Being that there were 6 of us and only 4 bikes, Dana and I didn’t ride, but enjoyed our walk. The host Auntie sent us to a local state park on a lake- one where we were supposed to get to see alligators- and where there was a beautiful garden, sort of like Manito. It was a beautiful day, and the others enjoyed their ride around the lake and we enjoyed our walk. I was super tired, though. Sarah and I sat in a cool tree and took some fun pictures and then stayed in it and read for a while. Maclay Gardens is beautiful, but I bet it’s even more so when things are blooming more (yes, there are things here that are in bloom)

We took Amanda and Sharye and the bikes home and headed back to the hotel. I promptly fell asleep in Sarah’s room. They decided it would be better to not wake me up for dinner and let me enjoy me 2-hour nap. We got a new Auntie today, who I haven’t met and wasn’t expecting. Another Auntie Sarah. Does that make her #3? The other other Aunte Sarah? (Once I meet her I’ll come up with some way to distinguish her in this blog, so at least you won’t be confused.)

Sarah came back to get me and we went to get some dinner for me. Chick-Fil-A again, just for kicks. Now we’re enjoying a movie.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1143s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb