Enjoying my last days at Disney...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
January 20th 2006
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mickey's HaircutMickey's HaircutMickey's Haircut

Even Mickey Mouse needs a trim now and then.
I started to get a scratchy throat last night, and today I'm kind of dragging. Not to miss out on any of the things I had planned on cramming into this week, I downed a few aspirin and made my way to MGM Studios to knock out some of the out-of-the-way attractions that I have been missing. I by-passed our normal thrill rides for leisurely strolls through the walk-through attractions and entertaining shows. After all, I had already done Rockin' Roller Coaster and Tower of Terror the weekend before with the fam, and this day was about ME!

Early in the day, I received news from Hilary that Jeff's "Dexter" book series had been picked up by Showtime. Woohoo! I called everyone back in Cape Coral to let them know. Seems they were just as thrilled as I was and spent the remainder of their time without me celebrating more than one could have ever imagined, but that's another story entirely. After hearing the news, I spent the rest of my day at the Studios imagining what it was going to be like to be in on the action once "Dexter" starts production in the fall. Being El Presidente of
He must have been rolling around in it.He must have been rolling around in it.He must have been rolling around in it.

Mickey with Pooh oh his head.
the Dexter Fan Club, I have to believe I will be quite the VIP on the set. Yeah, right. Can I get anyone a water? Shine your shoes?

A couple of new things I saw at MGM were the "Lights, Motors, Action!" show, which was fantastic, and the "Narnia: Through the Wardrobe" deal, which was neat but not all that. I finally got to do the Magic of Animation walk-through, which turned out to be almost the exact same thing Mallory and I had done at California Adventure a few years ago when we went with Toni. Still neat. I did the computer test to see which character I most closely resembled, personality-wise. Wanna take a wild guess? I'm sure no one will be knocked over to learn that I am none other than Snow White personified. Of course one of the highlights of my day was "Walt Disney: One Man's Dream". What a guy. I even got to meet Mickey Mouse next door--without a wait, no less. God is good.

By mid-afternoon, I was in bad shape. My throat was on fire and I couldn't breathe through my nose. I made my way back to Saratoga Springs for a nap, then woke up around 6-ish and tried to remember why it was I had decided to go to Epcot for the Extra Magic Hours night when I was feeling so rotten. Trey convinced me that I should buck up and drag myself there to close the place down at midnight since it was my last night there, so of course I did. Obviously I am not the sharpest knife in the drawer. I did actually end up having a good time, although I ached with every step I took. I watched Illuminations from behind the UK and got ash all over myself from the fireworks. I have never stood so close to the water, I suppose. I will watch the wind next time, as it ended up staining one of my favorite Mickey t-shirts. Cool souvenier, though.

The Exra Magic Hours proved to be a nice time in World Showcase, but the rides that were open in Future World (namely Soarin' and Mission: Space) still had really long waits. My favorite thing was American Adventure, which was extra neat because I had gotten to see the show behind the scenes just a few days before during my Backstage Magic tour. From the back, the animatronic figures are stacked on a big metal rack sort of like outdoor car parks in Manhattan. A fork lift sort of mechanism pulls them out on their individual platforms and moves them under the stage when it's time for them to apear, then raises them up to stage-level so the audience can see them. Magic.

Around 11:00, I decided I couldn't do it anymore and made my way to the park's exit. But did I leave then? Of course not. I had to take one more ride through Spaceship Earth just to put an appropriate end on my week-long adventure. I was the ONLY PERSON on the whole ride. It was cool and eerie at the same time.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Pooh at the Train TracksPooh at the Train Tracks
Pooh at the Train Tracks

Don't do it, Pooh!


2nd February 2006

Great job
Jana, You did a wonderful job with your travelblog.I felt like I was right there with you. I am so glad that you had such a wonderful time. You're the best

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb