A most magical (and Pooh-filled) day!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
January 20th 2006
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Talking Garbage CanTalking Garbage CanTalking Garbage Can

These kids were mesmerized by this talking garbage can in Tomorrowland!
Today was Magic Kingdom day--woohoo! I spent the day hopping around from one obscure attraction to another, taking pictures for strangers and talking to this person and that about All Things Disney. I helped people find attractions, gave them tips about planning their day to maximize their time at the Magic Kingdom, and explained over and over that I do not work for Disney (sob!) and gave them my story.

Carousel of Progress had been updated since I last saw it several years ago, but it was pretty much the same old musty attraction that I have always loved. There were some new attractions and shows I had never seen, and the park was empty enough that I was able to do them all. I actually went to the Hall of Presidents and rode the Walt Disney Railroad for the first time ever (I think*).

(*Note for those of you who may not know this JANA FACTOID: When I was four-years-old, I lived with my mom and stepdad, Mike Curry, in Orlando for a few months. You do the math. I was born in 1967. At four-years-old, the year would have been 1971. Can anyone tell me what happened
Huge Pile of PoohHuge Pile of PoohHuge Pile of Pooh

Early-on in the day, I stepped in a gi-normous pile of Pooh!
in Orlando in 1971? Anyone? Anyone? That happened to be the year that Walter Elias Disney opened Walt Disney World. Could this possibly explain the Disney geek-ness that permeates my soul and alienates me from the majority of my social circle? Yeah, probably.)

All-in-all, it was the perfect Magic Kingdom day. Despite stepping in Pooh (oh come on--you knew I had to throw that in there!) every time I turned around, I did pretty much everything I wanted to do. I would say that it would have only been better had I been with my loved ones, but I know that they would have been whining every step of the way because it was such a Jana Day.

One more thing to mention before I sign off: I happened to be in Fantasyland right before the fireworks started, signalling the park's closing. All the lines for rides had cleared out since everyone was racing to the exit to try and beat the crowds to their cars resorts. I did four rides in 15 minutes! I got on the Dumbo ride just as the fireworks started and was able to take the very last ride of the night while
Me and PoohMe and PoohMe and Pooh

Please try not to judge me, but sometimes I just feel like hugging my own Pooh.
I watched the new "Wishes" fireworks show from high atop Fantasyland in my very own, private Dumbo car! Of course I shed a couple of tears. Also, since I was so behind the throngs racing to get out of the park, I hung around for a while taking some pictures of the castle at night. I ran into a gal and her daughter from Sweden who didn't have a camera, so I took pictures of them in front of the castle and e-mailed them tonight. I LOVE THIS!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Roy DisneyRoy Disney
Roy Disney

Even Roy sometimes steps in Pooh.
Peter Pan RidePeter Pan Ride
Peter Pan Ride

This one's for you, Beth. You asked and I delivered--I thought of you during the whole ride!
Pooh FertilizerPooh Fertilizer
Pooh Fertilizer

Of course Mickey Mouse knows the benefits of using Pooh as fertilizer.
Are you serious???Are you serious???
Are you serious???

This picture was taken at the rose garden in front of Cinderella's Castle, which is where Trey proposed marriage over 13 years ago.
Castle During FireworksCastle During Fireworks
Castle During Fireworks

Again, just SO COOL!
PartnersPartners
Partners

Walt and Mickey...enough said.


20th January 2006

Disney needs a cleaning
Hey Jana! I have to say I'm amazed there is so much "pooh" at Disney. You always hear how clean the parks are, but you seem to be stepping in "pooh" everywhere you go. I think the "pooh" problem should be brought to the attention of the Disney custodial staff. Oh well. Even with the large amount of "pooh" in the parks, at least you are managing to have a great time. ;-)
3rd February 2006

You are such a Disney GEEK!
The picture of you looking at the Pooh on your shoe is too much! I can so appreciate that picture. Glad to see you had such a great time!!!! Brigid

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb