Travels with Snowbirds Blue Springs SP FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orange City
January 18th 2012
Published: January 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday January 18, 2012

Warm enough last night to sleep without any type of heater! I woke up at 4:30, rolled over, went back to sleep to have Winston wake me up at 7:30. I harnessed him outside while I made my bed and got dressed, and we were on the road to see the Manatees before 8, no coffee for me, no food for him.

I walked downhill to the spring area. I was the ONLY PERSON there!!!! We walked the boardwalk all along the water’s edge and was pleasantly surprised to see so many manatees near the edge. Lots of pictures herein. It was very peaceful to just stand there and watch them gently move along.

The closest viewing area is the floating dock used for swimming when the manatees are not around, but it clearly is marked NO PETS. By this time I had seen 2 other women, who recognized me as their campsite next door neighbor. Shoot, other people meant no Winston on this platform, I didn’t want anyone to see me. There were also park rangers approaching. I must have had that ‘damn’ look on my face, when one of the rangers said,
baby manateebaby manateebaby manatee

sideways going over a sunken tree
‘take your dog down there. There is no one here, there are so many manatees right off the dock, you need to see it to believe it.’ Wowie, there are good people in the world. Down we walk, and if allowed, I could have reached down and touched them. They asked me if more people come, please remove the dog, and I had at least 5 minutes time before I had to do that. It was a wonderful experience, a memory I will have forever.

The rest of the day it threatened rain and rained. It even thundered some, and Winston sure hates that, he tries to crawl in my pockets. So, we laid low inside the RV, venturing out only once or twice for bio breaks for him.

Sorry, Valerie, I could not make your picture of the Senior RV load. It was cute, a red scooter pulling a travel trailer.

I did spend some time researching a new phone. I was eligible for new phone 1/3 and was hoping to finish my trip with my PalmPre, but it really has been acting up, and the battery does not hold the charge long at all. I so want an iphone, but it’s gonna cost me so much extra on data usage, a feature that was included in my plan with the PalmPre. There is a Verizon store nearby and the iphone 4S is available immediately. I have a lot of thinking to do overnight.

Randomness. I hate it when neighboring campers have to start their fires with lighter fluid. It is such a smelly process, and I always seem to be downwind of them. And, these are tent campers, you would think they would be a little more natural, and use twigs and small branches rather than lighter fluid

Randomness. Why oh why do I always seem to be near large 5th wheels pulled behind big ass Ford trucks. I have been near campers who turn on their engines what seems like an hour before they pull out creating unnecessary noise pollution. Inconsiderate for sure.

Randomness. Last night was the 2nd night on my trip that I was startled by an animal in the brush near my campsite when I take Winston out for his last trip of the night. I turn on my outside light, put my baseball hat on with flashlight attached to the rim, open the door, and last night saw 2 blue eyes about 10 feet away. Good thing I had Winston tightly in hand, as he took off like a bat out of hell, then got scared like me and we both jumped back into the rig. It was probably a raccoon. Tonight I will make more noise before going out.

Tomorrow lots of chores before I head to my new place. Verizon store, Laundromat, PetSmart, Grocery store hopefully not Walmart, then on to the KOA near Daytona for a few days with the Space Coast Loners on Wheels.

Kat out


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



19th January 2012

great shots
Thanks for sending the manatee pictures. I especially love the one upside down.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb