Last trip- Big Pine Key


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key West
July 29th 2010
Published: July 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bruce WayneBruce WayneBruce Wayne

As soon as I got the suitcase out, she jumped in and fell asleep
Right before this last trip I got a call from my visa card people that there was suspicious activity. Indeed there was. Someone got a hold of some account of mine and ordered a bunch of stuff. So I canceled the card and they would send me a new one. However- when I got back back from this trip, the stuff that was ordered was mailed to my house! ACK! Someone hacked into something and just ordered a bunch of stuff. I'm not sure why either. They are just making me have to return everything (which is a pain) and they don't actually get anything... probably some punk teenager in Wyoming who is bored on summer vacation. Bummer.

Anyway- my trip. This one was to move Aaron and Stefani to Big Pine Key for a year. We talked Aaron's hot friend, Chris, in to coming along too (no one get excited- the guy is pretty, for sure, but our personalities don't really mesh into romantic feelings). SO- we drove 10 hours to Stefani's uncle's house (I started to feel a little less than awesome that day. I get car sick....). Then we went 8 more hours the next day to Stefani's mom's house (our destination). Then we spent a really fun week in the Keys. We went to the beach, on the jet ski, snorkeling (which was fun- it was just me and Chris and there was lots of fun stuff to see), Key West, saw an alligator, iguana, key deer (they're little!), ate fresh coconuts, and got super tan again! It was a really fun trip- I think it helps when you don't have to pay any money for a trip and you're staying with people (we stayed in a house, not a hotel, they have a boat, jet ski, and all that fun stuff to use).

I wore my sunglasses one day at the beach and ended up with a really bad sunglasses tan. So I went out another day and put sunscreen everywhere but by eyes. I burnt my eyelids a tad (just a bit pink) and made the whole tan worse (some spots that weren't tan got sunscreen on them and were still white, and other places likes my eyelids did get tan. So I look ridiculous in some pictures with a crazy weird mask thing going on...)

But now I'm back home from my last trip. I'm all sad now because the 3 people I was closest to have all moved away. I need to start reading for class because I apparently have to read about 3 textbooks before school starts. I'm starting to get scared for the next 4 years- I don't want to get so busy that I'm not having fun anymore. HOWEVER- looking back at the whole summer, I had SO much fun and I got to see so much and so many pretty places. So I'm very happy with how my summer went and I am still happy to be getting my PhD (just worried because I don't know how it's gonna be, ya know?).

I guess my next post will be me in a classroom


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



30th July 2010

I love palm tree too. . .
I'm glad to see you're back. It looks like you had a great time. When does school officially start. Come by and have lunch some time.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb