And so it begins


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Knoxville
August 20th 2010
Published: August 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My new officeMy new officeMy new office

This is me in my new office. Apparently a Friday at 2:00 wasn't the best time to come and meet everyone... it's kind of empty. But there were a few in here I got to chat with and what not.
This will probably be my last entry for the blog (is anyone even checking this anymore?!) and I'm writing from my new office! Classes have officially started. I've met my professors. I've started reading. I've learned my vocabulary is insanely small and I combine words to make up new ones (which the one time came out as a real word with a waaaay different meaning than the made up word I was trying to say).

My other best friend, Shaun, is back in town so I'm happy about that (not that I'll see him a whole lot, but it's gotta be more than twice a year, right?!). I've questioned about 100 times if this is really what I want to be doing, and keep telling myself I'm here for a reason, but I'm in all honesty quite surprised to be sitting here in the graduate students' office as a PhD student... it's SO weird! And UT is HUGE! The biggest class I've been in has been 35 people and next week I start as a TA for a class of 582... and in the spring I have to lecture in front of 300! OH NO! Someone get a doctor there
Shaun's back!Shaun's back!Shaun's back!

Maryville College has a new fountain that we FINALLY got to see turned on!!
to write me a script 'cuz I'm gonna need some serious pills to calm me down enough to speak words in front of 300 students!

Anyway- tonight the department is meeting at a place downtown for a get together and get-to-know-the-newbies, so I gotta go outside my comfort zone and hang with lots of strangers for a bit.

Advertisement



24th August 2010

I miss you!
Yes, I have been checking here. I wasn't sure when you officially started school. You look smarter already :-) Call me when you have a minute. May be we can go out when you have a break from school stuff. :-)

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb