Travels with Snowbirds Saturday February 9, 2013 Old Mill Stream RV Resort Umatilla FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Eustis
February 9th 2013
Published: February 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Saturday February 9, 2013 Old Mill Stream RV Resort Umatilla FL

The One About “I HAVE HAD IT WITH ANTS!!”

We have a name. It is Moya. My 3 names were down to Katwinn, Serenity and Moya, and Moya won. Moya is the living being starship in one of my all time favorite TV scifi shows, Farscape (starring that hunky Ben Browder). Moya was a Leviathan, an organic space ship who helped protect those who rescued her from a job she did not want to be doing. She was also a mother. Moya covers several of the things I was looking for in a name, something Irish sounding and something that means something to me. Thanks all for your suggestions, and it was all those suggestions who led me down this path to finding the right name.

I have had it with the ants. Last night I thought they were going to eat me. They were everywhere. They are most active at night. This morning one more time I cleaned out all the cabinets, moved the ant traps, placed borax along what I thought were there trails, and made a solution of borax and water that I could use to clean. I also made a paste out of peanut butter and borax and put that in the areas they seem to most frequent. So far tonight there are far fewer than there were last night, but they are still around. I have figured out that they don’t like light or heat, so I opened my outdoor compartments to let the light in, and hopefully them out.

Continental Breakfast and LOW chapter meeting first thing this morning, then Kathy and I set off to do laundry at “Son Shine Coin Laundry” right across the street from the campground. Do you think they spelled it that way on purpose? Is it owned by the “Son” family? Is it owned by the son of someone???? It was crowded with Latino families and seniors, I suspect from the campground. A very pleasant attendant was on hand to guide us thru figuring out new machines, and watch them for us while we checked out the Family Dollar store next door. $2.50 to wash and $.25 for 6 minutes dry time, and we were done in under an hour. This was the first Laundromat I have ever seen with a kiddie play area, and a cutely decorated one at that!!! We checked out another nearby campground that I thought Kathy might be interested in for future visits, but the campsites were too close together for her liking.

3:00 Happy Hour Valentine’s Day Party was a riot. The hosts outdid themselves with the planned games!!! We were all forced to play, like it or not, and a lot of laughs were had. There was a kind of musical chairs, but we had to grab an article of clothing off a table we were circling when the music ended and put it on. The guys loved getting the bra and panties. Then we put one of those Big Red Solo Cups with a piece of elastic thru it on our heads and our partner had to land 2 wiffle golf balls in it thrown from across a table. You get the idea, silly games which made us laugh. The campout hosts prepared Spaghetti and meat sauce, salad and garlic bread for dinner.

Winston is still very submissive, after his recent episode, he wants to make me happy. His crate is out at all times with the door open and his blankey and bed set inside for him. He does go in it to sleep, and most nights he stays there all night. When I go out, I put a cookie inside it, he goes inside and I lock the door. Sometimes he barks before I am out the door, other times he is quiet. I sure am happier that he does not have the opportunity to make a mess. I took him to the doggie park late today, and he almost actually played with the 2 small dogs there. They played nicely, roughhouse, tumbling, and Winston ran around them barking and kicking up dirt. He barked and barked and barked, and did wear himself out. He is in his crate now, snoring. Jerk.

After dinner, I could see police activity from my campsite vantage point along the front fence. Next we saw a helicopter landing….right in front of my campsite on the other side of the fence!!! One of our group checked it out, and we got vague details; a woman fell nearby, and it was determined that the local hospital could not treat her injuries. She needed to be transported to Tampa or Orlando. She was moved via ambulance to this field in front of our campground, and the helicopter called and landed, and took off, all within 10 minutes. Kind of cool, but can you imagine that bill? I wonder who pays for the helicopter. Medicare???? What type of injury could she have had that the local hospital could not take care of it??? Knowing that would make me NOT want to live in this remote a location.

I took Winston out for his last walk of the night just a few minutes ago. I decided to check my outside compartments to make sure all the doors were closed. What do I find streaming across the exterior? Almost a solid line of ANTS. Back inside, get my home made spray bottle of borax spray and spray down every one of them I see. Immediate shrivel and death. Chalk one for the good guys. I sprayed inside the sewer/electric compartment, just everywhere, used almost the whole bottle. Tomorrow is another day, C'mon, Moya, do your stuff and get rid of the bad guys.

Tomorrow is a travel day, about 60 miles to Thousand Trails Orlando, which really is in Clermont, kind of southwest of Orlando. We join back up with Ginnie for a week; she will be taking Joanne back to the airport in the morning. My oldest child, Tim, is in Orlando for a convention, and I hope we can connect at some point so he can meet Moya. Maybe Tuesday.

Kat out

Advertisement



10th February 2013

Ants Be Gone!
Hey Kat, I am so enjoying reading about your travels and travails, lol. I'm sure the ants are a big pain. I recently discovered some in my laundry room, from where they came, who knows. I tried traps, and just killed as I saw them. Hardly what you are dealing with, but a few days later they were finally gone...I hope. Sounds like you are having a great time and you are so fortunate to have the opportunity to do what you do. I'm in Aruba now, until next Saturday, and thought about writing a blog, but I wouldn't have much to blog about. (Long story). Anyway, enjoy your travels and Moya. BTW, did that bark stopper thing work? My Libbie might benefit from it. Grace
14th February 2013

Good to hear from you
The Ants are Gone!!! All the gory details are coming up soon. I will be home around 3/5 or so, and can't wait to catch up with all my newcomer friends; I hope they haven't forgotten me!!! The barker thing probably did not work as well as I had hoped it would. I will give it to you to try when I get home to see if it works for your barker.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.1kb