Travels with Snowbirds Friday February 8, 2013, Old Mill Stream RV Resort, Umatilla, FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Eustis
February 8th 2013
Published: February 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Up early on Friday to preheat the oven. The breakfast casserole was a big hit; I made 2 large and one small (the small was 9x13!!) trays and I think this group would have eaten twice as much if it was there.

At 10:30 most of the group took a picnic lunch trip to nearby Alexander Springs County Park. I opted to stay at the campground and give Winston a break, and myself one as well. I washed the front of my rig, cleaned a little inside, crocheted in the sun, took him to the dog park again, and had a nice peaceful day doing nothing. I had a short hose stowed in a plastic 3 drawer rack. When I got the hose out of the ‘basement’ it was covered in ants. Do they ever go away? Are they reproducing somewhere in side the rig???? I wipe every surface down at least once a day, and they keep finding new places to hide. GROWL.

Kathy called me early afternoon, her awning flipped up due to the wind and bent its mounting bracket. Fortunate for her, there was an on site RV repair service truck in the main part of the campground fixing something on a 5th wheel. When they were done they came over, and said they could fix the bracket, but they needed her to go to their shop. She followed them, they bent it back into place, and off she went. Free. No charge. Wow. She probably needs a new bracket, but there is no way this current bent one is coming off, and the awning still works, so she’s all set.

Happy hour was just that. A lot of good and fun and silly conversations. I enjoyed my seat out in the sun.

5:30 dinner for 23 at nearby Gator something or other restaurant. Friday night all you can eat Fried Fish dinner and 2 for 1 well drinks. So, for $13.00 plus tip, $16, I had a feast of wonderful fried fish, fries and cole slaw and 2 margaritas that even had a healthy bit of alcohol in them. 3 others at the table ordered it as well, and those that didn’t were as pleased as we were with their selections. Kathy got a piece of Key Lime Pie for desert which we shared.

More good conversations at dinner. We were seated with Dwight, Native Nebraska, been in FL for 30+ years; Beth, born and raised in FL; Linda, lived in FL since the 50s ,and Carol, from WI. We talked about our personal thoughts on Gun Control (starts with education and religion at home) First camping events, our marriages, most painful thing about being over 60, (stiff joints) and what our families think of our RVing life style (I think mine think I am nuts.) It was a most enjoyable evening. Riding home we turned right instead of left and ended up in downtown Eustis where the trees are covered in Red White and Blue lights. I thought I was in DisneyWorld!!!!

Winston was fine in his crate. I really don’t care if he barks, he did not put any doggie body fluids on anything.

Tomorrow is RV naming day. Last call. I am still honed in on Sereneity, Moya, Katwinn. New suggestions have been Camelot, Lady Gregory and Anastasia.

Time to crochet.

Kat out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb