Travels with Snowbirds 2012 Eustis FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Eustis
February 23rd 2012
Published: February 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday February 22, 2012

A beautiful day here at Southern Palms. Didn’t do much of anything, crochet, catch up on Farmville, and took lots of walks. My neighbors are all lovely people.

Winston actually played with little Daisy from the rig behind me. He let her jump all over him, then he jumped on her and they rolled on the ground together. I knew he had it in him. Her owner, whose name I have forgotten, says Daisy sits on the back of their couch looking out the window whining at Winston, all she wants to do is play with him.

Next door neighbors Al & Sue are interesting people. They are from Michigan and travel about 6 months a year, 4 here in FL and the one month before and one month after they see the sights of the country. Sue trained horses to ride, to race and to pull buggys. Al made and restored buggys, fancy wagons and carts. Their travels take them to places involving their interests, horses and buggys!!! I sit with Sue every day from 1 to 3, she does her needlepoint, I do my crocheting and we just chat about anything that happens along.

I went to the pool, which was wonderful. Nice and clean and warm. I even managed to fall asleep for a few minutes.

About 3:00 rumor flew thru the campground that bad weather was about 10 minutes away. Looking at the sky, you could tell that was really true. My awning was out, so I quickly put it up and no sooner than it was secure the skies opened up and it poured. I heard on the TV today that there was 2 inches of rain here. I have been thru worse thunder and lightning and wind, for sure, but it sure did rain hard. Off and on all night it poured. It put a big damper on my barbecue, so I sautéed my chicken breasts in a frying pan and they turned out just fine.

Tonight was the annual resident talent show, “Doin What Comes Naturally”. Tickets $3, proceeds to some charity. The ‘theme’ was 2012 summer Olympics. My neighbors made sure I was going, so I could not let them down, they even saved me a seat. Keep thinking Olympics, ok? There were about 400 people in the audience, yes, I counted. They kept adding chairs as more and more came in. Remember, this park is broken into 3 sections. The first thing was the Opening Ceremonies. Each ‘park’ made a flag, and their ‘athletes’ paraded in, one with white shirts black bottoms, one with Hawaiian shirts, one with glittery stuff. The ceremony was a loooooonnnnnnnngggggggggg performance by the church choir of 20. All I will say is they have a lot of heart and a lot of bad voices. It was almost painful. Then two women came out, the tennis champions, and paraded around. Next a soloist performing an almost spoken version in honor of her recently departed husband of 1 week short of 50 years, The Wind Beneath my Wings. It brought a tear to my eyes. Next a very old man in wife beater T and satin shorts threw the discus (Frisbee). You’re beginning to get the idea, right? A lot of it was very very funny, and they got standing ovations, but some was painful as well. Act I was over an hour long, and since I knew Winston would be barking, and it was now 8:30, I left. It was pouring rain and I got soaked. Winston was asleep in his crate. Go figure. He hates the rain on the roof, and he was asleep in his crate.

Kat out.

Advertisement



24th February 2012

Saved By the Dog
Ah ha, I suspected as much, Winston is an enabeler; trained to help you escape trying social situations. Woof woof! So smart!

Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0986s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb