Sea World Concert


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Clermont
February 14th 2016
Published: February 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Concert at Sea World

Saturday the 13th was a lay back day. We had been doing a lot of running the last few days so it was nice to wake up when I felt like it and move slowly. Isn't that what retirement is all about!

The hawks came back to the neighborhood briefly and squawked and carried on to let me know they were here. I practiced catching them in flight with my new lens and was able to get a couple nice shots. The moon was visible too, it was just begging for it's image to be captured.

At 5:30 we went to the rec hall to serve strawberry short cake to the people that were coming in for the Valentine dance. It is a fund raiser for the improvement of the dog park, who can resist...

At 7:30 we went back to Kat's house to watch a movie since she has super wifi and can stream all kinds of shows. We watched Far from the Maddening Crowd and I enjoyed it, we even splurged and had popcorn.

Sunday was another beautiful day. I know it's freezing up north but the days of late have been sunny and beautiful. I took Oscar for a walk then started packing up all my loose ends that have gotten spread out in the last 2 weeks, rearranged the back storage compartment, put away the grill and collected the recycle bottles.

There was also time for a little book reading but before I knew it I had to get ready for the show. Sea World has concerts every Sunday afternoon and this week it was Gladys Knight that came to dazzle us. We left about 2:30 and got right in and by the time we walked to the concert stadium it was almost 4, show time.

All of the crew on the stage along with the Pips were all dressed in black and Gladys came down the center isle and up on the stage wearing a full red outfit, complete with red high heels. The woman is 71 years young and she looks and sounds terrific, what a voice! She was a little slow to start but the crowd really got into the show and they fueled her big time. It was a standing, swaying, clapping and hollering event. Her older brother performed with her for a few songs and the energy was electric.

There was a couple dancing, well actually Mr and Mrs Santa Clause, who really enjoyed the show too. Pictures

We got home about 6:30, time to tend the dogs before Downton Abbey comes on tv.

I can't believe I have been here 2 weeks and it is time to head out tomorrow. I want to leave about 8:30 so I can get the oil changed at a station just down the road then be on my way to Hillsborough River State Park, about 1 1/2 hr drive. It will be sad saying good bye to all my girlies, we've had a fun time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 90; dbt: 0.1678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb