Travels with Snowbirds 2012 Bushnell FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Bushnell
January 10th 2012
Published: January 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last day in Bushnell, FL

JUST TO LET YOU ALL KNOW. THOSE OF YOU THAT ARE GETTING AN EMAIL FROM ME AND ARE ON FACEBOOK, YOU WILL STOP GETTING AN EMAIL AFTER THIS ONE. PLEASE LOOK ON FACEBOOK FOR MY BLOG, I POST A LINK EACH DAY.



A lazy day for me, but a busy day for Judy B. She was up and out early and gone for hours.

I tried to do my laundry, but kept getting screwed out of the machines, each time I went back someone had just beaten me to them. 4 machines, only 3 work. 4 dryers as well. The laundry room smells like propane and sauerkraut, not a place I like to hang around, so I made the multiple walks and finally got my loads separated and washing. Another one of those senior moment things. When I returned to the laundry room, I had only pushed my 4 quarters in on 2 of the 3 machines. I put the 2 clean loads in one of the empty dryers and pushed the coins in on the 3rd washer and went away for another half hour. GROWL.

As I was returning from yet another walk to the laundry room (my shin splints are KILLING me from all this walking today- time to start exercising and stretching again) Judy had returned from her trip to the mechanic, about 10 miles away. He couldn’t find anything wrong at first, then hooked up to ‘the computer’ and ‘the computer’ said cylinder 5 (Volkswagen engine in her Rialta RV) was misfiring. Diagnosis bad coil. He did not have coil for Volkswagen, but he would order, come back next Tuesday, but in the meantime don’t drive anywhere. Yeah, right. She suggested that he order it shipped overnight, which he did, but it won’t arrive until late Wednesday afternoon, not leaving him enough time to repair on Wednesday, so come back Thursday. That kills Judy going to the Tampa RV show with us. While at the mechanic, she noticed a campground right nearby, and walked in and made a reservation for Wednesday night so she could be there first thing Thursday morning. If we are able to save a space for her in the RV show campground, we will and perhaps she can catch up to us.

The mechanic told her not to make any unnecessary trips. As I needed to get to a grocery store before the next portion of our trip, I just started asking everyone I saw if they were going to the grocery store or Walmart, and Porgy agreed to take me. Porgy is from the northeast, but spent time teaching in NJ and taking classes at Monmouth College (told her it was now Mon. U.) She leases a permanent structure here at Florilow Oaks, and has a small Class B that she travels all over in when she is not here in FL. Nice lady, and I told her I would certainly pay the good deed forward, and that was all she asked. I did hurry, but, as usual, I had to walk from one end of the overly long store, not once but twice. Porgy was gracious, thank you.

During this time, my wash was in the dryer. I was afraid it would end up in a ball on the table because I was hogging it up, but it wasn’t. It was still damp. I brought it all back to my campsite and draped the ultra damp things (towels, sweatshirt) over the lawn chairs and put them in the sun, and they quickly dried.

Time to sit down for a while, and I did, crocheting on the baby blanket I am making for friend Ed A’s first grandchild. It’s turning out very cute.

I started to pack up my campsite, organizing, sweeping, and cleaning. It’s supposed to be raining in the morning, and there is nothing worse than unhooking in the rain, so the more I can get accomplished tonight the easier my task is in the morning.

Kat Out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1008.6kb