National Gallery of Art-Washington, DC


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Was in Washington, DC on business and since my flight was only slightly late getting into town, I had a couple of hours to go see some site seeing. Decided to head over to the National Gallery of Art. Last time I was in town, I visited the Gallery in between meetings on the hill when I had to kill some time but it was very rushed. Wanted to be able to wander and linger a little more.

Started out on the bottom level and worked my way over to one of my favorite artists, Albert Bierstadt. His "Lake Lucerne" is a very, very large canvas. It's not one of my faves of his but I still enjoy. Just amazing how someone can interpret so accurately.

The other side of the hall contained several sculptures including several by Rodin. Casts of his "The Thinker" were on display as well as some of this other work.

Landscapes are my favorite and there are some extremely gorgeous ones at the Gallery. I especially liked Jasper Francis Cropsey's "Autumn on the Hudson," Aert Van Der Neer's "Moonlit Landscape" and Andre Giroux's "Forest Interior". Rembrandt also has his own room with heavy wood paneling. Seems fitting.

Headed upstairs to the recommended highlights. For instance, there is a room with several Monets. Not a huge Monet fan since I swear I get a headache if I look at them too long with the blurry painting. Of his, my fave was probably "Girl with a Parasol". Another room had several Raphael's including his famous "Alba Madonna" and a Self Portrait.

I also enjoyed several Italian scenes. Maybe that was because I had been in Italy in November and seen the places first hand so was a little nostalgic.

The Gallery also has a few Garden Courts and the big Rotunda room. The Rotunda Room has really bad lighting but the flowers were very pretty. Tried out my macro setting to snap a few.

The Gallery is a wonderful place to enjoy some leisurely time. I have definitely grown to appreciate it more as I've grown older and learned more about art and the artists on display. I had first visited the Gallery back when I was a senior in high school and did not appreciate it at all at the time. It was more something that I had to get through to see other sites. Now, I have a completely different attitude about it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Giovanni Panini-Interior of the PantheonGiovanni Panini-Interior of the Pantheon
Giovanni Panini-Interior of the Pantheon

Liked this since I was just at the Pantheon in November.


3rd March 2008

art
great photos of the art....It is not easy to get good pics of art pieces. Thanks for adding a Monet, he is one of my favs. Has been forever, maybe since he uses a lot of blue. :P Last time I was at the National Gallery was when I was in college...too long. :(
4th March 2008

Virtual Gallery Art Visit
Thank you for this great virtual art gallery visit! I am myself on a business trip and have not had the opportunity to deviate from the hotel-office-hotel loop yet. Your blog made me feel like I have.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb