Route 1 to Yosemite and beyond.


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tim and Tom: I was going to break this down into a number of posts but I won't. Basically we have made our way from Coos Bay on the West Coast to San Fransisco in the convertable. It has taken a few days and we have stopped off a few places along the way.

We got to San Fran a few days ago, we travelled on the coastal road along Routes 101 and 1. Often these roads were small and challenging to drive on due to the fact that they are on mountain sides. Roof down with the tunes on and taking in the scenery of California which was awesome. I have a farmers tan and so does Tom come to think of it but his is a proper tan..I am just less pasty white and red in a few places. Ok ok so I have caught the sun a bit ..I blame (1) Tom (because I want to) (2) The Sun! (3) My inability to apply suncream fully (even after 26 years) (4) the convertable car.

We arrived in San Fran with nowhere to stay..because it seemed a fun thing to do. So we got back in the car and headed out to Yosemite National Park stopping over in Modesto for the night. Yosemite was awesome! You can see that by the photos and it was a good place to spend birthday number 26, well the day anyway. In the evening we headed back into San Fran and found some local bars in which to drink and tease the locals. We found a rather good bar with a pool table, it started out a bit freaky with some mad drunk mexican man thrusting his hips at the pool table but he left and it all calmed down a bit. We settled into pool and as a birthday treat Tom decided that we would find his pool game and beat me 9 games to 1..on my birthday, how mean! Then we moved to another bar where we were ...harrassed...for drinks by a lady who worked for the house and wanted us to buy her shots..she kept on trying to chat us up..(for shots) and in the end I directly said that I would buy her a drink if she went forth and multiplied.

We have accomodation now and we are in San Fran..well we are not..but we are..we have hired another car and we are off to Los Angeles in a few days so that I can sell Tom to Disney Land. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



6th June 2008

Postcards.
Hi Tim. sounds as though you enjoyed you birthday. Ellie and Lottie are with me right now and wish you a belated Happy Birthday. Looking forward to seeing the photos when you get back. Love nan and grandadXX

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb