105 and Snow plows


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
September 16th 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tucson was nice. I stayed around this morning to check out the old stomping grounds in the day light, and to replace the motorcycle cover. Mr. Bill just didn’t want to even get out of bed.. He was still reeling after the brush with the Border Patrol.

That was day 28 … I think. What I know, it was hot. The temperature topped out at 105. I did stop and break out my cooling vest. A baggie, some ice water and 20 min later ..it’s all cool…

I skirted around the border till I felt it necessary to make some time and get out to the coast.

I saw the weirdest thing today. Between Yuma and El Centro, as far south as you can get and still be in the good old US of A, while it was 105, two (2) large commercial dump trucks with attached SNOW plows attached were heading east. I am sorry that I did not get the picture…

The area around El Centro is 56 feet below sea level. How does this work? I saw what appeared to be small rivers.. ??

Climbing out of the area I traversed the Cleveland
105105105

Time to get the cooling vest working
Natural Forrest and passes at 4600 feet… The temp went from 105 to 79.. Shivering, a quick stop to dry off and get warm and the next thing I knew I was fighting traffic in the San Diego area. The only good news I have besides seeing Jen, Chris and Master Luke, is the drivers here, drive like the hammers of hell.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



16th September 2009

all new, every day-what a treat!
Hi Chucky What a ride you are taking us on! Reminds me of the villiages, mountain and beaches of southern France on a bike with no agenda, freedom is good!Yes!
16th September 2009

Hammers of Hell
The Origin of "Hammers of Hell" remains somewhat obscure, but can be traced at least back to the early 1900s. The term appears to relate to the ringing of bells, commonly done with a "hammer" or "clapper." A 1911 first novel (The Trail of Ninety-Eight, relating to the Alaskan Gold Rush) by poet Robert Service mentiones "the flying hammers of hell were pounding..." Not too long after this, in 1920, Sinclair Lewis (Mainstreet) mentioned "Hell's Bells" in a passage. From these sources, the terms seem to have taken hold in English dialects as ways of describing problems, or being under great pressure.
17th September 2009

Prius?
I noticed that the best rabbits in CA were Toyota Prius. They just seem to go faster than everyone. Let me know if you see the same thing. Watch those truck mirrors when you lane split! ;) Have Bill keep an eye to the sky. Only ticket I got on my trip down there was a CHiP plane!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb