My Life


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's been awhile since I blogged and I've decided I miss it. So I am going to try and do it more often. Although this site is a travel blog it will allow me to use for daily entries even when I'm not traveling. I hope you enjoy it.
I have been working as a consultant for the last 10 months at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Beverly Hills, California. I fly from Tucson to LA each Sunday night and fly home Thursday afternoon. I miss Ken but it has been a wonderful experience in many ways. I teach Physicians how to use their Electronic Medicl Record as well as build the clincial application. I have learned so much and have met so many interesting people, some amazing, some bizaar...just like normal life.

I love the weather in California; I love the flowers that are always blooming. Beverly Hills is great but I could never live here... taxes, traffic, cost of everything. I stay at The Beverly Hilton which I love. The sheets at the Hilton are Fili D'oro brand, which are the best ever! I wanted to buy a set until I found out they would cost $575 for one
Lunch time in Beverly HillsLunch time in Beverly HillsLunch time in Beverly Hills

Walked past her after lunch. I did check to see if she was breathing.
fitted and one flat sheet! Everything at the hotel is wonderful except the food.....but there are plenty of wonderful restaurants in Beverly Hills. My contract is up August 1st. I have mixed emotions about leaving. The President has stayed there twice while I was there; once I was only feet away from the motorcade. I have seen many 'red carpets' there; had to sneak past a few in my 'work attire'. I was staying there when Whitney Houston died there. Although the hotel has been updated, much of the 'old' history remains. It feels like the 50's, black and white photos of old movie stars hang on the walls, movie and concert memorabilia are displayed in glass cases. I got to speak with the manager and he shared stories about famous people who have stayed there, including showing me the bathroom where John Edwards tried to hide out from the paparazzi. The Starbucks at Wilshire and Santa Monica Blvd knows my name and has my latte waiting for me by the time I get to the cash register. I've seen Bill Cosby, Russel Brand, Paul Anka, Eva Mendes, Mark Anthony and Goran Visnjic. Ken has come out several times to spend the weekend here. We've seen 'Coldplay' at the Hollywood Bowl, explored Santa Barbara, Termecula, San Diego and gone to a California Angels baseball game.

I'm not sure where my next assignment will be, but I know it will be an adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Dominicks RestaurantDominicks Restaurant
Dominicks Restaurant

Favorite Restaurant in Beverly Hills


13th June 2012

YAY!
Glad to see you are back to blogging ... I enjoy following your adventures! =)
14th June 2012

Thanks Ann
15th June 2012

Fantastic
Margie, Love hearing from you, even if it is a blog. Aren't you glad you left here - you have had so many wonderful things happen since then. I am also looking for the open window so I can escape.
16th June 2012

Hi Nancy
I am glad I left Oro Valley Hospital. I am having so much fun. One thing I have always done-try things even if you are afraid that you can't do them...it always is an adventure and works out. Miss our talks...are you a grandma?

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb