Dec 26 Acapluco


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guerrero » Acapulco
February 4th 2011
Published: February 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I woke up with Acapulco at my doorstep, it is much nicer than I imagined.

I would have been excited to go exploring but I think I am getting a cold. But, up I got dressed and had breakfast at 7 in the buffet. We met Rick and Leisa and together we left the ship. Another cruise ship was parked in front of us and then I realized how beautiful the Princess ship was in comparison.

A Mexican man came up to us, he was an official walking tour guide. He only whatever we wanted to give him at the end of the day, even $1 would be enough as he only wanted to feed his family. I wished I was feeling better, I had a fever and the temp was already 30C and the sun was hard to take especially walking.

Unfortunately it is Sunday and Boxing day so a large percentage of the shops were closed, which gave the city a very dismal impression close up.

He took us into old town and a Catholic Church where there was Sunday Mass in process. It was standing room only but a very neat old church. Apparently
Our welcoming partyOur welcoming partyOur welcoming party

Aren't you reassured. I think it is the machine guns that ere the most threatening
it is ok to take pictures but I felt it would be rude to intrude in their service.

We then asked if there was somewhere that we could sit and have a drink. He took us to this nice outdoor café in the square that overlooked the ocean, so there was shade and a nice breeze(I needed that as I thought I was going to pass out from the heat).

We then walked to an old fort called Fort San Diego. It was free on Sundays and a big surprise. They had done a wonderful job of restoring it and all the rooms had air conditioning which was perfect for me. We toured on foot and returned to the ship at 2.

I was very happy to find a internet café just beside the ship. Even though I could not hear your voices it was good to know that I could reach out and touch you in some way and of course more tears.

Everyone went on board, but Ron and I stopped at Senor’ Frogs and had a Margarita. It was a fun place the waiters were getting some young girls from the ship on the bar dancing and everyone seemed to be having a great time. Angie I thought of you and knew you would be up there in 2 minutes.

We got back on the ship and went to see some Mexican Folk Dancers which were brought on board for the show. Believe it or not I fell asleep watching them so we went back to our room and I slept until 8. Ron came back and we went to eat at the buffet walked a bit and I went back to the room and slept again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

More Street shotsMore Street shots
More Street shots

When walking through here the sewer system is so bad that several times you would get a stong smell of raw sewage. The combination of the heat and me not feeling well was not good.
Sick meSick me
Sick me

I have had better days,I am sure I would have enjoyed exploring much more if I was feeling better
The church The church
The church

You can see all the people,it was very full when we went inside
Another view from the fortAnother view from the fort
Another view from the fort

Moat around the fort
Oh my yet another oneOh my yet another one
Oh my yet another one

It was really stunning, I took alot of pictures here and just picked a few I thought you would enoy


Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb