Some notes to describe the day...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Northwest Territories » Yellowknife
September 24th 2008
Published: September 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Light rain. Fog. Nippy.
Location:Yellowknife
Temperature:5 °C
Comfort level:-8 °C
Dew point:4 °C
Barometer:1000 millibars
Humidity:93%
Visibility:5 km
Wind:41 km/h from 240° Southwest by west
Last update:Tue 8:00 AM MDT

Light rain. Fog. Nippy. is not how I would describe the weather here today!. It is miserable. It feels like the temperature and moisture of a Vancouver Rain Storm in December. But add to that a gale force wind. I can hear the sideways rain pounding on the side of our office building, feel the walls shake and see the trees bend over with the wind that howls around the corner of the building. Boy, I feel sorry for those folks living on houseboats today on the Great Slave Lake.
Its supposed to turn to snow in the afternoon and repeat this each day here until Friday.

Whitecaps on the lake and ravens flying only one direction.

You know what its like when you drive through a carwash and at the end the machine dries off your car with air. You can see the water on your windshield blowing sideways and up in little streams forced by the blower. That is what my office window looks like. Its incredible.

Advertisement



24th September 2008

OH COLD...
YUCK! Who likes cold? Why do people WANT to live in Canada in the winter? I am freezing and it is only ZERO. ZERO. ZERO. Ahhhhhhh! Glad I have a wood furnace. I cannot imagine what is going to happen to me when REAL winter sets in... and it is going to set in for you so much sooner! Pete is back in BC... now I have time to be on the computer :0) for fun! He is hoping to go up to Inuvik for work this week.... he has headed to Ft. Nelson, then Ft. Liard and we'll see where he is taken next! He is excited about the traveling NORTH... not sure why... but whatever! I told him that if he ever gets to go to Yellowknife he better check in! Well... gotta run... cough so hard this morning I think I pulled a muscle near my lungs. Ttyl

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019kb