Snow Snow and more Snow


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
January 9th 2007
Published: January 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Snowing in VancouverSnowing in VancouverSnowing in Vancouver

Only a few times a year
We glide into Vancouver direct from San Fran, the plane is buffeted a little as we land. I’m back in Canada!!!, as most of you know I have a soft spot for the land of the maple leaf. Something about this place, even though it’s freezing and has snow top mountains surround the city of Vancouver; it somehow reminds me of home.

During our stay we Rode around Stanly Park, visited the Beluga whales at the aquarium again. And Cam, this time we didn’t get wet. We stayed out of the splash zone.

I have been to the snow every year for the last decade, Perisher, Thredbo, New Zealand and even Canada 2 years ago. I have never seen so much snow as I have in the last 72 hours.

Friday the 5th we woke to it snowing in Vancouver (sea level), we jumped on a bus and headed to Whistler, and it snowed the whole trip. Unfortunately, the busses windscreen wipers broke and we had to drive without them for about 10 km. Whistler has had a record breaking 8.5 meters of snow since November, and since we have been here (48 hrs) we have had over half a meter of the white stuff. Daz and I are in heaven.

On the night of arrival we visited the main village, we are a 10 min bus ride from the main town. We are staying in creekside. On the way home at around 10pm, the bus comes to a halt in line of traffic. We are told that the police have closed the main road due to too much snow and they have to turn us around. There was no choice as we had to get back to hotel, so we set off on a 1 hr walk with the rest of the buses occupants. It must have been -5 while it buckets down snow with all our shopping on our backs. An interesting experience that for sure.

Yesterday was an early morning wakeup to get up on the mountain before 9am, and damn it was worth it. Over half a meter of snow, Daz and I were up to our waists in powder. Gliding over this smooth stuff that is non existent in Australia is what we were here for and we got it. Our legs are aching but it’s all worth it.

We have 4 days left in Whistler and night in Vancouver before bussing it down to Seattle.

Well enjoy the pics for now, I’m heading back to the slopes.

Roh



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Snow upto my waistSnow upto my waist
Snow upto my waist

No, I'm not kneeling here. I'm standin


9th January 2007

Smartytpants
POW-der! W#OW Sounds and looks Amazing! I want to be there!
9th January 2007

Oh my.....more bike riding!!!!!
Well, we are the little peddle pusher now aren't we........can I gather that when you return home you will be biking in the summer months and snowboarding in the winter????? I know a few people who will join you if only you ask! Have a few ales for me.
16th January 2007

Go the powder
Hey mate.. Great to see the huge amounts of powder in Whistler this time... a far cry from the last time we were there.. Have a blast n looking forward to the next blog.. PEACE CAMO

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 17; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb