Pimpin' Ain't Easy


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Center District » Kfar Saba
May 4th 2008
Published: May 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tel Aviv CityscapeTel Aviv CityscapeTel Aviv Cityscape

So there was this awesome exhibition in the Dizengoff Center and this guy drew scenes from Tel Aviv. This is one of them from the balcony of his house.
I love finding other English speaking bloggers in Israel. It's like a game of hide and seek and makes me feel slightly less crazy when something happens to me in this country and I look around and happen to be the old non-Hebrew speaking person on the planet at the moment.

Saying this, I have my few favorites. What War Zone?? is this hilarious guy Benji Lovett's blog. I had the very interesting and somewhat stalkerish experience of getting to meet him at the Taglit Purim party held in Tel Aviv this year. Not only have I been following this guys blog for just about a year, but I actually got to meet him. I recognized him because everytime I log into his blog, I see his picture so that when the time actually came to say hello, I felt like a stalker.

"Umm...hi. I read your blog almost every day. I'm Jessi. You're hilarious......so.....how are you?"



Then I totally didn't get his Purim "costume" which consisted of a cardboard sign that had 4 corners and a triangle tip up top that said "Hamantashen after Iran"....apparently it was either my blondeness or as he assured me, no one got it. Whew. Though it was just me. Oh and just in case, it was
TovaTovaTova

This is what happens when a heat wave strikes and there is no water in site. You stick childrens tutu's on your head.
explained as Hamantashen have 5 sides and he was making a joke that after Iran hit it, it only had 4 sides. Get it? Man....I just killed that joke. Sorry Benji.

Ok anyways....reading Israeli by Day, American by Night I came across this link and it's quite gross.

Did you know that

"If people don't clean their keyboards regularly, they might as well eat lunch in the toilet.".


Eww. Certaintly makes me want to type all day long now - but really since I rarely update anymore, then that won't be such a problem haha.

Also in the article, they sign off with this practical tip of "Contrary to some advice posted online though, office workers should not take their keyboards home and put them in the dishwasher."

Who does that?!?




Finally, speaking about English, I have a real issue with Israelis walking around with English on their shirts.

Now I know its fashionable and there is a fascination with my mother tongue, but really people, do you even know what you're wearing???

2 prime examples of which I am not lying in any way shape or form (I seriously need to start taking pictures of these people for proof)

1) 50 or 80 something year old Grandma walking
Amazing BowlAmazing BowlAmazing Bowl

Nachalat Binyamin artist fair plays host to a lot of interesting crafts and I picked up this beauty. It's a bowl made completely from recycled newspaper. How eco am I??
down Derech Menachem Begin the other day. Russian, the kind with makeup plastered onto their face like clown makeup, gold chains, a million rings on the fingers and tight tight tight (did I say tight?) tshirts.

Hers reads: "Pimpin' ain't easy"

Yeah Grandma, I'm sure those pimps and hoes are sure hard to keep track of. Also, the Israeli men in this country need to raise their standards if they're knocking down YOUR door.

2) Corner of Lincoln and Menachem Begin in Tel Aviv on my way to work. I see a religious woman wearing the full skirt, hair covered, standard clogs/Crocs and on her shirt reads:

"Anytime, anywhere, anyplace. You just tell me when."

Somehow I don't think that shirt was made with God in mind.

Sheesh people. Just because a shirt says something in English does not make it cool. Ask your friend whose mother tongue is English before you go shopping for heaven's sakes!!!

Ok...till next time.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Bushkill FallsBushkill Falls
Bushkill Falls

My friend Dan went hiking at this waterfall reseve near our old houses and he took this stunning picture. I stole it :)
PurimPurim
Purim

Didn't get a picture of Benji's costume but I did get this group shot. I was a greek Princess - minus the Greek and add in the Korean.
Artsy fartsyArtsy fartsy
Artsy fartsy

Just because I'm artistic. and a pretty good photographer if you ask me.


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb