Day One: Madrid


Advertisement
Europe
January 28th 2013
Published: January 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

AirplaneAirplaneAirplane

View from plane, sunrise flying into Madrid.
Well today was the longest day ever. I don't even really remember where it began but I've only slept about 6 hours in the last 48, so I'm heading to bed soon.

We did a lot of exploring today. I met a nice group of girls, one is from New Jersey, another from Washington, two are from north/south Cali, one from Michigan, and another from Missouri. We drank espresso con leche, sangria, and ate pizza vegetal for lunch.

Then we walked around a little bit and explored the train station, called Atocha in Madrid. We also had a panoramic bus tour of the city with the group, but I fell asleep, it hit me like a brick wall at that point. They suggested that we shouldn't sleep until bedtime so we can get one a schedule, so I listened and almost died of exhaustion.

After our meeting, the girls and I went exploring to Plaza Mayor, it's beautiful and only about 20 minutes from our hotel, which is on Paseo del Prado. We had tapas and vino roja for dinner and then stopped for gelato and churros con chocolate after 😊

I'm also staying in the hotel
AirplaneAirplaneAirplane

Sunrise in Madrid
with the girl that I will be living with all semester. Her name is Lindsay and she seems very nice and chill. I think we'll have fun together.

Tomorrow we spend one more day in Madrid. We're going to go to the Museo del Prado, the museum that holds the Las Meninas painting, and a walking tour of the city. Then after 3pm we have free time so we'll probably head back to Plaza Mayor to see it in the daytime and maybe go to El Retiro, a beautiful park near the hotel. I've been to most of these places in high school, but it's kind of cool to have an idea of where I'm going in the city. Madrid isn't my favorite city, it's pretty dirty and touristy (the airport was littered with trash because the cleaning service people are on strike right now, again). I'm ready to move onto Sevilla, a little bit smaller and I'll be able to get into a routine. On Wednesday we'll be stopping in Toledo, I love this city, we went in high school and it's awesome. Very quaint and nice. Then Sevilla/ homestay on Thursday!



P.S. click on
First dayFirst dayFirst day

Sangria!
the photos button for this entry, I've uploaded a few photos so far.

Love,

Haley


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

First DayFirst Day
First Day

Atocha train station in madrid, inside.
Ensalada con tomate y parmeseanoEnsalada con tomate y parmeseano
Ensalada con tomate y parmeseano

lunch today! I also had gnocchi in a gorgonzola cream sauce and sangria, of course
FlanFlan
Flan

sooo good
Walking tour of MadridWalking tour of Madrid
Walking tour of Madrid

We saw la casa de Cervantes and lots of plazas and el Museo Prado, very large and cool city


29th January 2013

Love the blog
Wow! You had a busy first day. I am so happy you are enjoying the people in your group. Sounds like you are bonding already. Get some sleep and get ready for Day 2. Love you, Amy
30th January 2013
Airplane

Yum
Haley, The food and views look amazing. It is so fun to hear and see all that you are experiencing. I am enjoying a snow day. I slept in and still having coffee in my jammies. We are supposed to get 5-7 inches of snow today. The high tomorrow is 8. What is the temp.? How are your clothes working out? It sounds like you made some new friends. How was the sangria? I know you are nervous for the home visit. You will do great. Look how well you do with Claudia and Max. They are going to love you. Love you, Amy

Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb