A Warm Bowl of Alphabet Soup


Advertisement
Europe
November 15th 2008
Published: November 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's been a long time between entries, so I thought I would condense the past three months into one entry, about 26 short sections in length. Turns out there are 26 letters in the alphabet. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to put those two together, so here you have the A to Z of my last three months.

A is for Amsterdam. My self-confessed number one fan (Dulal) has commented, emailed me, and even called me (for the first time in 6 months) asking me for an entry on Amsterdam, but I'm afraid it's not going to happen. I have devoted the letter A to it, though.

I don't really have much to say about Amsty, except that I've been there twice and had blazin' good times. It's an unusual place, and even though some might call it a dirty, seedy, underground grot-hole - I'd be happy to go back.

B is for Beaune, in Burgundy. Here I met up the delightful Julie and spent the evening with her lovely family. Beaune is pronounced like a cross between the words 'born' and 'bone', but with a French accent (in case you were wondering). This is made particularly
Me and JulieMe and JulieMe and Julie

About to have a gastronomic experience like no other
easier if you've just completed a wine tour, and luckily that was the first thing we did after I stepped off the train. Julie's family were so friendly and hospitable, and her Grandparents' cottage in the countryside was like something out of a dream. I could also mention the delicious food and drink I had, but then there would be no point reading L and V.

C is for Christmas. I have a feeling I will still be in London for Christmas. In fact, I am quite certain of this because my boss had the audacity to schedule me in for work all around it. Fingers crossed for a white Christmas.

D is for Dollis Hill. Affectionately referred to as The Hill, this is the suburb in London where I have spent MANY nights. There is a hostel there (I won't damage its reputation and name it) which boasts the cheapest nightly accommodation in all of London. If you have visited me in this city, you have probably caught bedbugs there with me. Anyway, it definitely deserves a mention as it has been like a home to me.

E is for Europe. That was pretty easy.
Canal in AmsterdamCanal in AmsterdamCanal in Amsterdam

Tom and I. Probably discussing Anne Frank or Van Gogh

F is for the Fitzroy Tavern. This is the name of the old pub across the road from my work - you might call it my local. I do. Steeped in history, it is the pub that George Orwell and Dylan Thomas frequented in the good old days. At work, we affectionately refer to this place as Alpine Heaven thanks to the heavenly beer sold here called Alpine Lager. It is perhaps the single most delicious beverage ever to have met my lips. Wholesome, full of love and flavour, and just like a stolen kiss on a summer's day. Might just be my favourite beer in the world. This probably has something to do with the fact that a pint is only £2.10, but who knows.

If you have visited me in London, it is a certainty that I took you here for an Alpine. I suppose I should mention that I have also fallen in love with two of the bar girls so far (perhaps due to their ideal upstairs living arrangement directly across from my work...) but unfortunately, this has been to little avail.

G is for Ghetto. I had no idea that the nightclub 'Ghetto'
F is for FitzroyF is for FitzroyF is for Fitzroy

The outside of Alpine Heaven, with a well staffed boutique hotel in the background.
was the gayest club in London until it was almost too late. For some reason, we didn't catch on to the fact that it was a flaming gay joint until the clues had already been there for too long. Perhaps it was the bartender wearing only underwear that gave it away - perhaps it was the homo-erotic pictures all over the wall. Perhaps it was the sinister looking dude holding my hand... I don't know, but at one point it clicked, and we realized exactly where we were. I say 'we' because I am not sure if Ollie W or Tim C want want to be affiliated with London's gay scene. Not that there's anything wrong with that.

H is for Hostel. No, I still don't have a place yet in London. Yes, I still stay in hostels. Yes, I know this is ridiculous, but there you go. Having avoided the extraordinary bond and upfront rent issues of a room so far, I have been able to travel so much more. If it wasn't for the hostels, do you think I would be writing this entry from a hotel in Spain? Well, a hybrid hotel. But more on that
Nice Swing, TomboNice Swing, TomboNice Swing, Tombo

The easiest way to keep your eye on the ball is to make sure it doesn't move.
later.

I is for Ice Skating in Hyde Park. The rink they set up in winter time is beautiful, and having a leisurely skate there is an experience to remember. Imagine the lush surroundings of Hyde Park whizzing by in a frosty blur as you dance about the rink in your warm woolen gloves and thick winter coat. The children are laughing and everybody is happy. For a few spinning moments, all seems right with the world.

Well, they haven't set it up yet and I've never actually seen it - but isn't the thought lovely?

Sure, this was a bit of a non-entry for I, but you're lucky - I was going to use a "London I" joke.

J is for Jersey Boys, which is without a doubt the best musical I have ever seen. If you come to London and want to experience theatre - see this. Enough said.

K is for Kensington and Kew Gardens and definitely not for knitting (no matter what any one might say). These make up two of my top three favourite parks in London (the third being Regent's). I have only been to Kew once, but it
Kensington GardensKensington GardensKensington Gardens

It's so beautiful in Autumn. You never want to leave.
was definitely worth it - an amazingly well maintained stretch of Narnia-like paradise. If you go there and don't want to pay the £15 entrance fee (!!!) ask the kindly lady at the nearby cafe to borrow her yearly ticket. I'm sure she will oblige. She did for me anyway.

I was going to cheat, and use Kew Gardens for Q (Q Gardens) but that would be ridiculous. See Q.

As for Kensington (and Regent's) - they are simply the most beautiful gardens I've ever seen, and if you have a bit of time and want a free activity, walking through these parks is unbeatable - especially in Autumn and especially if you like squirrels.

L is for Legs, of the frogs' variety. Or, as the French refer to them, les cuisses de grenouilles. Julie's family really put on a culinary show when I visited, and made sure I tasted frogs legs, snails, and the most delicious desserts known to mankind. The French really know what they're doing when it comes to cuisine, and I feel very lucky to have gotten a taste of family life. Merci beaucoup - c'était magnifique.

M is for Mini-golf. When
Frogs' LegsFrogs' LegsFrogs' Legs

Tastes a bit like chicken but with a bit more bounce to it.
we visited our cousin Jessica in Koksijde, Belgium, she took us to her local course. It was just your average game of mini-golf (despite us stubbornly completing the game when the heavens opened with rain), but I really like the action shot of Tom on what was the best mini-golf hole I have ever seen.

N is for Near the Beach which is how I would describe the 'hybrid hotel' I am currently staying at in San Sebastian (in Spain). And what a wondrous beach it is too, and only a stone's throw away from some of the finest tapas bars in the world. I figured I haven't seen the sea for about four months, which must be some kind of record. And I have never seen a hybrid hotel (although I'm still not sure what that means). This place is really opening my eyes.

O is for Oliver! Well O was always going to be for Oliver, but this time I mean the musical which is going to be showing in Drury Lane in December. And Rowan Atkinson is playing Fagin. I can't wait to see it. Please sir, can I have some more of that little
Vincent Van GoghVincent Van GoghVincent Van Gogh

The only thing illegal in Amsterdam is taking photos it seems. On the streets, in the museums - you name it. Did that stop me?
baby.

P is for Primark. If you're not familiar with Primark, it is perhaps the English equivalent of Big W in Australia or The Warehouse in NZ. But it only sells clothes. Cheap clothes. Some might say fashionable clothes. I would.

Anyway, this is where I do most of my shopping. Seeming I don't really have a home, I don't really have a washing machine. To make matters worse, to wash your own clothes in London is generally a price which can only be described by my entry below (Q). When I need fresh clothes, I head to Primark on Oxford Street. Unfortunately, I think all of London knows this secret, so shopping there is like trying to score a nice leg of zebra in the middle of feeding time in the Serengeti. *

Q is for Quite ridiculous really.

R is for les Ramblas. This is the name of a pretty cool street that runs straight through the guts of Barcelona. There were colourful and talented street performers all over the place and stalls selling everything from iguanas to tapas. Quite a lovely culture change after stepping off the plane from London, where I know
Before La TomatinaBefore La TomatinaBefore La Tomatina

The word panache comes to mind.
it's a struggle to get your hands on any kind of iguana.

S is for SNOW! Imagine my surprise to see snow falling outside our very own Alpine Heaven (see F) one cold October evening. It turned out to be the earliest October snowfall in London since 1934. Needless to say, my South African buddy Brad and I were out there rejoicing and dancing like fools before it even landed.

T is for la Tomatina, the Spanish festival where 30 or 40 thousand people flock to Buñyol (in Valencia) to throw tomatoes at each other for a few hours. I still haven't got my head around the purpose of this, but apparently some little muchacho from Buñyol once started a food fight with some other little hombre and it caught on immediately and became an annual event. Knowing full well that we were attending such a humbling and historical event, we made sure to dress the part.

U is for the Underground, aka the Tube. I was given a good demonstration of peak hour in London the other day when I had to miss four trains in a row because they were all overflowing with people and
Bordeaux - Mirror PoolBordeaux - Mirror PoolBordeaux - Mirror Pool

Was it beautiful? Je pense que oui.
I couldn't fit in. Unbelievable.

V is for Vin rouge, or as us English speakers probably know it as; red wine. If you know me, you probably know that the delights of a wine tour in Burgundy would be too good an offer to refuse. This was the first thing I did when I met Julie there. Julie's father, Michel, is a degustateur which means he has a good enough nose and and tastebud combination to be on the panel discussing and voting for the best wines. If my memory serves me correctly, he has been doing it for about 15 years running. This man knew his wine.

On top of this experience, just yesterday I took a wine tour in Bordeaux with Chris and his mate Tom. I know our lovely tour guide Francoise won't be reading this, but my heartfelt thanks to her for such a wonderful tour. If, however you are reading this Francoise, feel free to email me if you want Tom's email address. We knew you were keen.

W is for Winter. Looks like it will be a proper cold winter this year with all the lashings. As far as I can
Wine tasting in BordeauxWine tasting in BordeauxWine tasting in Bordeaux

Little bit of cheese, little bit of red. The perfect combination.
tell, an Australian winter is roughly equivalent to an English summer, so God knows what I am in for in London. All I know is I'll be wearing me long johns. (I got some from Primark).

eX is for eXpensive, which is the word I use to describe London in general.

Y is for Year which is very nearly the amount of time I have spent away from home. Can you believe that?

And finally, Z is for Zzzz, which is often the noise I make when I am asleep. And boy, have I slept in some weird places over the past few months. The train station in Brussels was the most uncomfortable of all (see below). Also, the amount of times I have fallen asleep on the Tube and woken up and had to get off the train and turn back isn't funny. Except for the exact moment when I open my eyes, check the station, then freak out and scramble off the train. I imagine that bit would be a bit funny for anyone watching.



Well, that was a pretty fun and interactive method of keeping you up do date. Now you all
Catching some Z'sCatching some Z'sCatching some Z's

At the Brussels Train Station
are.

Also, if you think I could have used a better word for any letter, please feel free to add it to the comments.

Dad - do not want to see "B is for Borrow", "L is for Lack of repayments" or "E is for Email your mother."

Dulal - do not want to see "K is for King Dulal" or any such nonsense.

Anything else is fine.

*I never actually went to the Serengeti so I have no idea what feeding time there is like. Or if there is a feeding time.

Advertisement



17th November 2008

B is for....
Good blog, I hope Francoise somehow finds this. A few suggestions though: B should be for Biscuit capital of the world. Because Nice and Monte Carlo are two of Arnott's finest products and our next pport of call. S should be for stubborn cause that was definately the word you were looking for the other day. X should be for eXtra hot like the shows in Amsterdam, but maybe you didn't want to talk about them with everyone. Whoops!
17th November 2008

golly golly ollie
O - good entry, have to say that what impressed me the most was the use of that funny looking worm like thing on top of "Buñyol" - seems that you have indeed learnt a lot whilst in Europe - not sure why you bothered with Uni!!
17th November 2008

Mini - golf?
So is it called 'mini - golf' because it's typically played by dwarfs like that couple standing beside Tom? Still loving the blogging. Don't stop.
17th November 2008

Fabulous !
Love to read your blog so much !! Great ideas the 26 entries. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us ! Thank you, it was a pleasure as my dad would probably say. Can't believe you are still living in hostels...I get sick of it after 3 weeks...Guess what ? Shane and I bought a house !! In Craigie !! Wonderful weather in Perth ! When would you be back ? Safe travel.
18th November 2008

Comedy Gold
I have to say I loved this entry! P is for Papa Antonio who took us off the cold and dangerous streets of Naples and gave us a nice comforting mug of love and generosity, along with the best accomadation available for a reasonable price. The man who gave us refuge and protection from the angry Napolese mobsters who we accidentally insulted by cutting in front of them in the line for pizza. Thoughtfully hooked us up with some babalicious Italian girls and gave us unlimited free soft drinks! We all miss you Papa. F could be for Favourite brother James but I know it would be a little unfair for you to say it publicly especially when Tom and Eddie could read it (but you tell me enough anyway so I'll that one slip) Also, Gary's comment about the mini golf absolutely cracked me up to the max! Hahaha, it was quite strange though that all the other people playing that day were dwarves...
19th November 2008

G is for Gee Boys...
Come on, get with the programs, forgotten us already, we are so much funnerer than anyoune else on your travels...!!!
20th November 2008

H is for
Heart shaped snowflake!! the very first thing I noticed on the photo...sorry Oliver! but..look closely....there are TWO!! anyone else spot it?... A little clearing of the throat here...what about the luxury accommodation that could be found in st. 'A' ??!!!!!! Hope you don't let me down....XX
21st November 2008

:-D
I've got 3 letters: OMG !!! Fitzroy Tavern ?? I am pretty sure this is the place I went to in 2006 when we were on a "night and gosthly tour" and the guy brought us to that pub ... AND I had the most amazing beer in my entire life: Alpine Lager !! It's like drinking honey, ... 2 years later I still hope to find some wherever I go but I think I will have to go back to London! It will definitely be worth it! I am so happy to see it wasn't all a dream and that I'm not the only one to love Alpine Lager!
22nd November 2008

B is for Football in Zanzibar
Ollie! What on earth happened to your figure & thighs? My Forearms are bigger than that (albeit not all muscle). You need to get back to your Eet-som-more (shortcake biscuits) diet & use me as an example of the 'in look' (45% muscle 55% fat). Also mate you lost your chance, the fabulous Julie has moved in with Shane - you left it too late. Oh & its expected to hit sub zero here soon, so dont expect a warm dismbarkment off the Jet (attempt at a punt). And I cant believe you used the 'it snow joke' line, you might as well have put a 'knock, knock' or chicken crossing the road joke in there'. Oh, Oh and another thing 'frog legs: like Chicken but with more of a bounce' - They're getting worse day in day out ol' boy. Finally, K is for Kold in London (as well as King Dulal).
23rd November 2008

B is for...
Birthday present! Of the 'best ever' variety. Or, perhaps a little more relevant, of the 'one and only' category for this year - I think your one package which made its journey all the way from 'far south-west' deserved a mention? Disappointing! Enjoyable reading though, nice work xx
26th November 2008

J is for...
Just read your blog...oh wait thats not really in the spirit of all things europe...but just to show off, i turned on my ceiling fan, wet myself all over and removed my doonah just so i could feel fkn cold like i bet ur feeling now:)good laughs mate as per usual, love the photo at belgium station, tom looks a hell of a lot more at home there than he does at davies rd!and i also wouldn't mind sharing a shortbread or shortcake or whatever with king dulal...sounds like a mighty jolly fellow:)stay cool mate
26th November 2008

mmmm Alphabet soup.... great on a cold London night! Though I think some letters might have been missing then! great blog :D can see why you pick reading Dickens now :) And your photos are fantastic. See you after Rome next week- we'll have to compare notes!
28th November 2008

Hey Oliver,I so NVU(get it haha)
Hi Oli,how ru?Wow bro,seems like your having so much fun,I guess I will not be able to contact you over Xmas to come into work for us a few shift lol,which I know you will drop everything to come and help out your Stamford family,hehe,I will keep it brief Oli,all the same people are here,me Maryanne ,Mavae,Siuta,Yasu,etc etc,yes our second home :)Have a wonderful Xmas Oli,and a safe and pleasant New Year. NU

Tot: 0.448s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb