'allo Gov


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey
October 8th 2006
Published: October 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

This will be my last entry from the U.K. I am at Justin's house & it is 8:45pm the night before I leave for Thailand.

I got back to the hostel from Edinburgh at 9:30pm Friday night. Had a couple of drinks, ran into Daz, our Tour driver, had a couple more drinks with him, tried to call Justin from the 1 phone that was working at the Hostel. Couldn't get through so I called him Saturday morning. Then I hit the hay. I was a little pevved cause I'd talked the guy at reception into giving me a bottom bunk & when I got to my room I found someone was already occupying it. She was not there so I couldn't make her change. So I climbed up into the bunk above & prayed that I did not need to go to the toilet in the middle of the night. Lucky I didn't wait up for her cause I heard her come in at around 3am. I made it though, no peeing through the night so all was ok. Took me about 15 minutes to climb down in the morning as all my arthritic limbs had not warmed up enough to move in the directions that I wanted them to go.

Finally got through to Justin, his instructions were to catch the tube to Richmons station & he would pick me up there. Easy enough, only 4 stops away from Stamford Brook where the Hostel is. I must say it was really nice having someone waiting to meet me when the train arrived. It's been rather lonely walking passed all the loved ones waiting for travellers at airports and such. I can't wait for my turn at Tulla next Monday.

Justin, Erica & Eloise live in Long Ditton which is in Surrey. It is a beautiful little village & suburb. We had a BBQ for lunch then just sat drinking & catching up. They had visitors in the afternoon & I watched my 1st "Football" match between England & Macedonia. It was interesting, I had lots of questions which was lucky cause absolutely nothing happened in the game. As Justin likes to say it was a draw. Yeah a 0-0 draw, he forgets to mention that!!! The other guy there, Andy, apologised for such a boring game. It was fun though.

After that Justing took me into Surbiton, the next village over, to a couple of typical English pubs. We had a few drinks but then I asked if we could come home as it was crowded, noisy & smokey & I had a really bad headache. He told me (more than once) that I was soft. We drank some more when we came home & I called Mum, Chris & Lyndall. He asked Lyndall who she had sent over & I musn't be her sister cause he thought we could all drink. I kept trying to tell him that I am normally a great drinker (as lots of you would attest to). But he would not believe me. He kept drinking but by 12:30 I needed to go to bed. Again much to his dismay.

Sunday had a bit of a sleep in, got up & they took me to Kingston. A village about 15 minutes from there house. It was gorgeous, had lunch then got a black cab home. Those things are the coolest (almost as cool as a scooter). Had a nana nap in the arvo then did some washing & packed to leave tomorrow. It has been fantastic staying with them. They are sooooo hospitable & have really welcomed me into their home. I will be sad to say goodbye. But not too sad cause I am really looking forward to relaxing in Thailand and of course SHOPPING!!

I spoke to Lyndall, as I said previously, and she gave me some great tips on where to buy things & what to pay while I'm over there. Her & Matt returned from there last Thurday so it's good to have some advise. Up til now I have been relying on Melissa for the low down. I still am though so I'll probably have more questions for you Lissy.

That's all for now, I will write again from Thailand. All say a prayer for me that the flight tomorrow is not too long & I get a good seat.

Ciao for now
Love Kel
xxxx

Advertisement



10th October 2006

I'm comin Home!!!!!
Ohhhhh I can't wait, I will probably be the 1st one out as I will bowl everyone over trying to get to you.......see you soon, Love Me xxxx

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb