Dearhoof to Chatsworth


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
October 20th 2005
Published: October 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys,
I have not up dated in a while because I have been sick all week, but I am feeling better now.
One of the funnest things I did last week was on Tuesday night. I went to a pub called the wheat sheaf to see a concert. I only knew of the headlining band, which was Dearhoof. They are this crazy band from San Francisco that has a Asian girl lead singer. She was really cool. She would do this Tai Chi kind of stuff while she was singing that represent what she was singing about. And the band was also really good also. If anyone reading this is into indie rock I recommend you check them out. There was also this single guy that opened for them, who was not very good, (he is the guy in the picture) and the drones were the other opening band, and they were ok.
I am also going to go to Amsterdam to see Animal Collective in concert. I was shown this band by a friend over here, and it is really weird music but it is really good. Then she invited me to go with her and another
Andrew and IAndrew and IAndrew and I

Ander and I in the fountian/stream thing
friend to go to Amsterdam to see them live and to check out Amsterdam. And I said, “Why not. Amsterdam and a good concert. Sounds like fun!” So, I am going to Amsterdam from the 26-28 of October, so next week. It was crazy…you know about all the crazy things that happen in Amsterdam, but the only time I have been to Amsterdam one of the first things I saw was this huge Jesus Saves neon sign. I think that is a good image of how no matter how dark and ‘sinful’ a place may seem to be that Christ is still reaching out to those people. And it is a comfort to me for I am no better then them, and Christ still reaches out to me.
On Sunday I had my first excursion with my program here. We went to Chatsworth House, which is the home of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. The house was kinda interesting with these huge murals of Greek gods and goddesses, but the best part of the trip was the Gardens. They were huge! It had many different smaller gardens, a couple different waterfalls, a fountain/stream that I played in (as
Me messing up these Girls PictureMe messing up these Girls PictureMe messing up these Girls Picture

Here am I messing up Kim and Stephanie's Picture
you can see in the pictures), a rock garden that I climbed (which you can also see in the pictures), and a steel sculpture of a horse called “War Horse“ that climbed and took pictures on but I do not have those pictures because I forgot to take my camera on the trip, and I have not gotten all the pictures from the people that took them. I was a lot of fun, and I got to meet new people and get to know others better. I have another execution on Monday to Stratford upon Avon to see a Shakespearean play. I should be really cool, and I will try to take my camera with me this time.
I hope all is going well with you all! Take Care!
Ad Deo Gloriam,
Matt


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Me being HelpfulMe being Helpful
Me being Helpful

We all got lost looking for one of the waterfalls so I was help some the girls over a stream.
posing infront of the stables' fountianposing infront of the stables' fountian
posing infront of the stables' fountian

From Left to Right ot goes Stephinie, Brooke, Kate, me and Andrew


20th October 2005

matt, do you honestly consider amsterdam a "dark and sinful" place?? be safe on your trip then!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb