What Happened Last Week?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
October 11th 2005
Published: October 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys,
It is another beautifully sunny day in Oxford. It is the second one in a row. Sunny days here are amazing because they are so few it really makes you appreciate them. Yesterday I was just walking through the city trying to get the library or trying to burn some time and it was amazing how the light would break through the spaces between the archaic stone buildings. I am really enjoying this city.
This past week I have been very busy with work and play. That it why I have not undated in a while. I had my first tutorial on Monday, and for that tutorial (and every tutorial) I am have to write between a 1500-3000 work essay. So, I was reading and writing all week getting ready for it. Then I met my tutor Monday morning, and we just sat in his office and disused my topic for the week, which was the cosmological argument for God. It was a bit nerve racking at first sitting across from a man whose knows so much more about a the topic you are trying to discuss then you do, but it became more comfortable towards the end when I began realized that he understood that I did not understand the cosmological argument and that he really wanted me to learn about it. It is interesting how a tutorial works. The tutor is trying the whole time to draw the ideas and concepts out of you, and when it happens the concept is really understood by you and you will remember it better because you didn’t just memorize a concept but you have realized the concept. I really like this form of education.
Where was also a lot of non-educationally connected things that I did this past week. My college, New College, had a lot of parties this last weekend. Thursday night they had a back to school dance for the Freshers (which is what they call freshmen here). I didn’t even know that it was happening, but some of my friends were going to go check out the first party that our college was having, so I went. I was very interesting. All of the British students were dressed in there old high school or elementary school uniforms. They really love to where costumes here. An example of this is that on Saturday night they had the first years bop, which is pretty much a theme party, and it was circus themed. Every single British student there was in some sort if costume, from lions and tigers to bearded ladies and trapeze artists. This made it very easy to pick out the Americas at the party because most if them were not in a costume. But I am proud to say that I had a costume on. I don’t have a picture of it yet, but a friend took one, so I will post it when I get it from her. It is pretty ridiculous.
Another cool thing that I got to do on Sunday is go to a community apple day that was across the meadow that I talked about last time. There is a community orchard where they have a bunch of different kinds of apples that are not grown very much any more because big company orchards don’t grow them, so they have a apple day every fall in which you can go and buy some of these rare apples. I had a really good apple that is fabled to be Shakespeare’s favourite kind of apple. I was amazing. Full of so many flavours that you do not get from a store bought apple.
Then last night I had an interesting experience. I watched Napoleon Dynamite with a bunch of British students and one of my American flat mates. I was a lot of fun. I got to explain a few of the jokes with them, like the queasadilla joke (for those of you that have seen it), and I also had to explain that high school in America was nothing like that movie.
Well this update is really long, so thank you to all who read the whole thing and make it to the line. I will try to update more often so they are not this long. I hope all is going well for you all. Take care and God bless!
AD Deo Gloriam,
Matt


Advertisement



14th October 2005

None
Matt! I
14th October 2005

Let's Try This Again :)
Matt! I do not know what happened last time, but I am trying again. I looove reading your posts! I am sure that you are having the time of your life. I am so excited for you!!! :)

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb