...are you ready....get set.......


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lincolnshire » Lincoln
November 10th 2007
Published: November 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Princess and CarolPrincess and CarolPrincess and Carol

Can Princess come too to pull the sledge?
Well, I have left Carol snoring in bed to do the blog - partly because I have been told that it is early in the morning when the creative side of the brain works best, partly cos I was getting a headache from the noise. However what comes next is absolutely true.

We have been getting the house ready to move (welcome to Ian and Maureen who are renting from us) and as part of that I have been going around tidying and emptying. There are lots of pennies and tuppences which I have been picking up to take to the bank (apologies for the rest of the queue for the half hour it took to get the money counted). So, I've been tootling around the rooms picking up coins and feeling jolly useful and putting the money in my trouser pocket. However, on the third roam around the house I suddenly realised I had a hole in my pocket.........

You will all be pleased to know the removal men came yesterday and the house is now sorted for going. Which allowed me to pack under the strict supervision of Carol. So, you will be asking yourselves what do
Ian and TonyIan and TonyIan and Tony

.what you really need to pack is a bucket and spade to go around the world with...
you pack to go around the world?

Well number one is obviously a bucket and spade.

But what then?

You are now going to get the list - laptop, camera, videocam, two phones, ipod and asociated batteries, chargers and cables.
8 pr socks, 4 pr undies, 2 polo shirts, 3 t shirts, pr pajamas (most important), 2 short sleeved shirts, rugby top, 2 smart shirts, one tie, one suit, pr chinos, 2 pr cargo trousers, pr smarttrousers, brown shoes, black shoes, trainers, mossie net, sleeping bag liner, medical kit, torch, guidebook for India and Thailand, malaria tablets, spongebag, tilley hat, woolly hat and panama hat, pr tracksuit bottoms and 2 pr swimming trunks (Carol insisted I left the speedos out).

Carol has been getting concerned about going up to Kashmir (because of the level of FCO security alert etc), personally I think the tigers will be the biggest problem (If you can, have a listen to the Bonzo Dog Do Dah Band singing "Hunting Tigers in Indiah") For the younger readers yes it is the Bonzo Dog Do Dah Band, it was the sixties.

I was thinking of doing was using the Crystal award level as we go around. Let me explain - when I was working in Northern Ireland the programme was called the Crystal Alliance. As we were all staying in hotels and having to eat out, we used to award a grading to different places and used Crystals - ie 5 absolutely fantastic; 4 very good; 3 good; 2 won't go there again; 1 yek and 0 - I don't think anywhere got zero . So - if I can find a crystal shaped icon I'll start using that so you can get a feel of what places and visits we make are like. (Really useful like watching a cookery programme to find out what something tastes like).

I think I'd better get Carol her tea and porridge. This is probably the last entry before we go - so our next entry will be from India ....... eeek.

Advertisement



11th November 2007

Gonna miss you :-(
...cos I won't have anyone to play with! I'll be thinking of you as I wander alone, through the mud, on the beach at Cleethorpes with my trousers rolled up trying to find the sea and gazing at the horizon knowing you're out there somewhere.
12th November 2007

Why twice the socks to undies..
Ian Not sure why you have got more socks than undies? Is it because you can trun them inside out and back to front and get 12 days out of 1 pair? I can not beleive you put this together yourself, you must have been on a master course. Have a great journey Martin,Lisa, Isobel and Jakes

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb