Arrival in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 16th 2008
Published: March 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in London at 5:30am on Friday. Barely got looked at by Customs at Heathrow, except for two questions - how long was I planning on staying, and what the conditions of my visa were. I was expecting more after the grilling I got when I arrived for a holiday back in 2001!!

Because of the time, I couldn't check into the hostel, so left my luggage at Heathrow and went into the city. Did some sightseeing, got my ATM card for my UK bank account and sorted out my UK sim, generally lazed about. Checked into hostel at 2pm and by the time I got my luggage sorted it was time to crash!! Hostel is OK - I am in a 6-bed dorm, three of the other girls were Australian (one from Mt Waverley!!), one Italian and one girl I have yet to meet even after a few days. A couple have left this morning though so will be expecting new roommates this afternoon.

Yesterday I made phone calls about rooms to rent with not much luck. Lots of weirdos out there - rooms already taken, people not wanting people without jobs, etc. Interviews are tomorrow and Tuesday so should have a better idea of what I want, and where I want to live, after that.

Then yesterday did a bit of the typical sightseeing - Buckingham Palace, Millenium Bridge, Guards Palace, HMS Belfast, Tower Bridge, Piccadilly Circus, etc.

Will upload pics when I have internet from my laptop (hopefully later this week when I find a place to live...)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb