Job and house searching in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 18th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So all of my interviews with the recruitment consultants are now over. Spoken to four of them in total. All went pretty well I think. They think that they should be able to find me some contract work in the public sector/not for profit, so now I just have to wait and see. Unfortunately it appears that it might not be the best time to have come over looking - all of the local/central government agencies are waiting on budgets because it is nearly the end of their financial year, so many don't want to make decisions about recruitment, others are wanting to spend money. Just a matter of time.

In other news, I've managed to line up temporary accommodation in greater London for the next week or two - possibly longer. With a family. Single room and my own toilet, use of kitchen/laundry facilities. Will do until I sort out what I am doing workwise. I move in Tuesday. At this stage I just want to avoid being one of 10 people sharing a house in a flat in inner london with one bathroom!! That is really the only other "short term" options that there are, everyone else wants some form of commitment (eg/ 3 months) which I don't want to do until I get a job.

Apart from that, all is going nicely. Got a bit of a head cold so plan on spending tomorrow veging in the TV room and in bed. Been a busy few days rushing around looking at places to live and talking with agencies about jobs.

Now the big decision - where will I go this Easter weekend? Don't have accommodation booked so seeing if there are cheap flights to go anywhere 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb