I'm back!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 23rd 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Way back to London
Ryanair. One Euro flight.
A no-frills airline.

Conny had to leave early this morning to catch a flight to Munich for work. So I said my goodbyes to her last night. So it was just me and Reimar this morning for breakfast. Some of the usual yummy bread and one last slice of plum cake…yum! I’ve come to realize that it’s really nice to sit down and have a leisurely breakfast at the table with a wide selection of spreads. Hmm, perhaps that’s what I like…that there’s a lot of choice and it’s just nice to be able to sit down and take ones time. Cuz thinking about before when I went to wok, I’d be rushing and maybe grab a bowl of cereal and a couple of slices of toast. That’s also what’s missing…good bread!

Anyhoo, soon enough after deflating the air mattress and brushing teeth it was time for Reimar to head off to work and therefore time for us to say goodbye.

I still had about an hour before having to head off to the train station where I would be able to catch a bus to the Frankfurt-Hahn Airport. Perfect amount of time to finish up the last pages of the book and the epilogue! I forgot about the epilogue! No worries though because I finished with even some time to spare! So I headed off to the train station about 5 minutes early after one last quick sweep of the apartment to make sure I had everything that was mine and then I was off. The walk was a leisurely 20 minutes. Not too bad since I was lugging 13kg on my back!

I eventually found the Ryanair bus stop and got myself a seat with no hassles. It was about 1 ¾ of an hour to get to the airport where I pretty much got into the Ryanair line up. It moved pretty quickly once the wickets opened. There’s not much to see in regards to shops and eateries so I pretty much went through passport control and waited at Gate 7 to update my journal…gotten really behind since arriving in Frankfurt!

Ryanair has “free for all” seating so it was a good thing I was #47 and allowed onto the plane after families and was able to get myself a window seat. A German girl sat beside me and then a larger American beside her. He could barely fit into his seat and the table tray couldn’t quite come down because his belly was in the way! Lol

The customs queue for all Non-EU passport holders was practically non-existent. Excellent! Then my bad came up pretty quickly and I was on my way to the bus station and caught the 2:30 bus into London’s Victoria station. . 75 minutes and I’ll be in London. Richard, whom I’ll be staying with again the next couple of days, will be off work and at home around 6:30 tonight so I have a few hours to kill. Hmm, perhaps I’ll have a bite to eat since I really haven’t had much to eat since breakfast. Two and a half hours. That’s not too long to have to wait especially when in a coffee shop with a good book!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb