The Village Life


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Colchester
August 30th 2006
Published: August 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It’s hard to believe that two months have passed since I arrived in this quaint corner of England. And all that time without a blog entry…shameful I know…but with my departure now imminent I felt it high time to give you all some details of my daily life in the villages of East Anglia.

And yes, I do mean villages. As in a severe lack of modern conveniences, thatched roof cottages, and an extremely large rabbit population. I live in the middle of an apple orchard, in the shadow of the Copella fruit juice factory, whose gentle humming lulls me to sleep every night. The house is quite large, a lucky thing as there are 20 of us living there. Fortunately I live in a small self contained flat in the house with three other girls (two of whom are lovely and one who is a slovenly pig, but I will refrain from ranting about her for the moment). The flat is fully carpeted, bathroom and kitchen included. Though this seemed strange at first, it has given me the unique opportunity to use the phrase: “I’m just going to vacuum the kitchen…”, something that I have always longed to say.
Mersea IslandMersea IslandMersea Island

Ok....I really didn't take very many pictures...


A typical day involves a ten minute walk through the orchard, followed by ten down a small country road and five through a golf course, whereupon I arrive at the beautiful Stoke-by-Nayland hotel and golf club, resplendent in 1970’s décor. And so begins 9-15 hours of pulling pints, serving wedding banquets, and attempting to sneak slices of chocolate cake from the kitchen when chef isn’t looking. As an amusing aside, the boxes have chocolate mints have been labelled “danish bacon”, to prevent peckish staff from nibbling. Far from effective, we have not only figured out the true contents, we have developed a method of extracting chocolates without breaking the seal.

I’m rather enjoying living an English life, despite the slightly unhealthy obsession Brits seem to have with blackcurrants. I’ve discovered, as well, that “bollocks” is an extremely useful and versatile word. My favourite expression, perhaps, is “oh dear, I’ve bollocksed that up terribly” (uttered after opening a box of glasses upside down).

Though I’ve enjoyed my time here somewhat, I’m rather looking forward to my move to Glastonbury in 8 days. Stay tuned for some more random ramblings as I continue my attempt at finding myself and
StaffStaffStaff

These are my two lovely Slovakian roommates
greater meaning or whatever it is that I’m doing with my year off. And pictures will be coming in the next fortnight or so…thank you for your patience.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Staff 2Staff 2
Staff 2

This is Sam sporting the latest in Slovakian fashion....arm warmers
Staff 3Staff 3
Staff 3

This is people
Staff 4Staff 4
Staff 4

My girls
NaylandNayland
Nayland

The village of...


30th August 2006

Turning into a wee Brit so ye are!!
Happy that you are going to be back in touch - the country life is nice but we miss your stories and observations of life in the UK. Can't wait to be able to call you on a phone WITHOUT time delay :-) A bollocks on those rabbits - they will miss you I'm sure but we need you back. Luv and hugs - waiting for the photos!!!!!!! Your ever loving Mama
30th August 2006

We miss you!!!
What a nice surprise this morning to find another amusing blog enry from my little sis... Craig was getting worried already from not hearing from you... I told him that you are pretty far from places that you can use the internet. So it sounds like you are working hard and that it was a good experience but that you are ready for a change. It was good to hear your voice on the phone and thanks for also listening to my ramblings on about babies and not sleeping... I better run, the wee one is awake and hungry. We all send you lots of hugs and kisses. Have fun in Glastonbury. Lots of love,Dilly
30th August 2006

There you are!
Nice to hear from you Gali. Your lovely Sister has been filling me in on your adventures in your absence from blogging....Sneaking chocolates eh? That reminds me of when I worked at Chateau Lake Louise. Us poor overworked, exhausted, hungry souls (lol) would be constantly be sneaking food from the buffet (ya gotta eat sometime!). We got very crafty at it too, although a co-worker of mine got caught once with her mouth crammed full of strawberries, 2 puffy cheeks full of food, and the supervisor asked her, "What's in your mouth?" She answered, "Gum.".......LMAO! I think I laughed for hours on that one. Anyway, good luck in Glastonbury. I hope your loveshack is a happy, fulfilling one. Til next time, take care Gali.
31st August 2006

Hi Gali!!!
Well, you sound like you're very busy and enjoying your life. I'm so happy for you. Good you're doing this now, before you settle down with a husband and children. I love reading your anecdotes.
1st September 2006

Oh, please teach me the art of chocolate extraction! I have bolloksed every attempt until now! Love J
1st September 2006

bollocks
Much like another word in the English language bollocks can have several meanings and. as you have so rightfully pointed out, it can change from a noun to a verb quite readily. You can be kicked in the bollocks (well, men can, at least most of them), something can be a load of old bollocks, you can (and you have) bollocksed something up. Still, it does not yet have the versatility of the other word I referred too. You can't go and bollocks yourself nor take a flying bollocks. You can't say bollocks off, not that was bollocksing good. You can't say to someone that you want to bollocks them and I have never heard anyone exclaim "Holy Bollocks!" We are looking forward to being much more in contact once you move to Glastonbury. Take care - we love you.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb