Solstice(s) and Goddess Worship


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Glastonbury
June 26th 2006
Published: June 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

When we last left off, I had just returned to Edinburgh, sleep deprived from the endless dayligh that is the Scottish summer. At long last I am able to find a hostel with proper curtains that are dark and close completely. Unfortunately, it's on the day that I must wake and pack at 5:00 AM. I somehow managed to consolidate all of my variously scattered belongings in the dark and make it to the train station on time. Three trains and a glimpse of ugly Northern England later, I arrive in Salisbury. The town is quaint in a commercialized sort of way though I'll admit that it was rather boring and I was so excited about staying in a hotel with a bathtub that I spent a good deal of time just relaxing.

Tuesday night I spent watching my first entire world cup match. I figured I might as well stop fighting it as there is no way to escape the fever in England. That, and there was a cute English guy explaining the game to me. At about 11:30 I decided to start making my way to Stonehenge. A bus ride and a 45 minute walk through a dark cow field later, I made it to the cold, crowded site. The rest of the night, as many of you already know, was rather disappointing, with pouring rain, no visible sunrise, drunk teenagers, and a sacred site littered with rubbish. Severely disillusioned, I decided on a whim to head to Glastonbury, which someone had recommended to me.

Glastonbury was, in fact, a wonderful place and my two nights quickly became five. The area is considered to be the birthplace of Christianity in Britain, the resting place of the holy grail, the Island of Avalon, and a sacred spot for many Pagan religions. I spent my first night celebrating the end of the solstice up on the Glastonbury Tor (THE holy spot in town). This night was far more enjoyable and spiritual. The rest of my time here was spent peacefully meditating, meeting some very interesting and wonderful people, and generally becoming more spiritual.

I apologize that this entry is somewhat less exciting than my previous ones but there are a few pictures coming soon (some with me in them even!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

GlastonburyGlastonbury
Glastonbury

Look... I am being social...funny actually this pub is now my local...
Cardiff CastleCardiff Castle
Cardiff Castle

oh yeah....umm I went to Cardiff for 4 days...


29th June 2006

Hey Gali, Too bad about Stonehenge but look where it led you - and I know your had fun in Glastonbury!!! The faeries were indeed good to you :-) Looking forward to the pics - can't wait to see your pretty face. Hugs and take care, Mama
29th June 2006

Big Daddy
Well! I told you that Stonehenge was nothing - just a big field with some old broken stones fer a hoose - big deal! Talk about yer leaking condos! Spiritual eh? Like Johnnie Walker spirits or what? Hehehehe! It's great to read about your adventures, good or bad. Hopefully you'll always have more good ones than bad ones. We miss you so much here. Take care, stay clear of the bushes and have fun.
29th June 2006

Bathtubs are a fab find when travelling! lol... Esp, clean ones!
You're entries are NEVER boring Gali, no matter how short or long they are. I almost feel like I'm right beside you as I read them. So, did you only watch the world cup match with that cute English guy? You were pretty vague there...wink, wink. lol...Glastonbury sounds terrific. Happy day to you today. Wendy

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb