Lisbon Day 3, satisfying my wandering urge


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Check out the painted wallCheck out the painted wallCheck out the painted wall

The photo doesnt capture this the best but this is taken from down by the waterfront, and the combination of the beautiful building that looked like an old style cinema front, combined with the cool wall painting of the tree and winged angel looking creature...
Tim version:
* Wandered Lisboa for about 5 hours, saw some wicked stuff. I have a serious wandering addiction as others will verify, especially after a few drinks..
* Decided to go to Sagres with Nancy and hung out all night with Caitlin.

3 course meal version:
Meant to go to Belem today with Nancy but never saw her rock up so skipped that and went out wandering Lisboa to catch the "real" less touristy side and it worked! I wandered through tiny carless streets, saw people just doing their thing not worrying about touristy people or trying to sell anything, shops purely written in Portuguese with owners that didnt speak english, parks with tables of old guys playing cards just relaxing in the shade. I could have hung around there all day and really wished at this point that I spoke Portuguese! If I were to move here, near this kind of area is where i would want to be I think if only it had a beach with waves... it just had a very friendly feel to the place, really couldnt point out any faults except that I wouldnt wanna drive through those tiny streets. Wish i had a photo of the park up the top, not sure where that went as I thought I took one, but it was magic...

Met Stefan on the way back and went to check out a gallery of something arty but that was closed. He's an animator and has a lifestyle I dream about and really hope I can achieve after this trip as he is living in Brazil working remotely for a company back home in Germany. How mad would that be?! Still getting to do what I love with work, but at the same time holding the flexibility to travel and experience living in various other countries and cultures. I couldnt think of a better aim for my skills as well with regards to work as you'd really have to manage your time and budget well I think, as well as doing a quality reliable job to keep the contracts coming... then i could live in Portugal moving from town to town for a while =) bliss...

Dinner, wine, more beer, more wicked stories from other travellers, and at 11:30 pm Nancy and I decided wed go to Sagres the following day. This I'm sticking in here
Dead little boat on the harbourDead little boat on the harbourDead little boat on the harbour

This dead little boat on the harbour was opposite the cruise liner on the other side. A crazy constrast, this boat looks so much more pretty than me
not because I think anyone will give a rats about me making that decision but to point out the pure joy of spontaneous solo travel! I was meant to be going to Tomar but really was dying for some beach and surf time (the previous beach at Cascais just made me wanna find a 'proper' beach) and this place Sagres was the bottom south west point town that had just that as well as some beautiful quiet time for me and my slightly abused liver! Being a solo traveller you have the ability to just go 'hell yeh, sounds good, im there!' while at the same time you here stories around of others wanting to go places but their fellow travellers didnt so they didnt make it n now they regret it an blurgh, no fun in that!

More drinks after Nancy headed back to where she was staying, and a funky mirrored bar later hanging out with Caitlin we managed to miss everyone else leaving the bar. I cant say enough good stuff about Caitlin, really awesome girl... seems to share my opinion on pretty much any topics that came up, purddy as well, and yeh... just wicked.
Big ugly cruise linerBig ugly cruise linerBig ugly cruise liner

These guys were waving to Lisboa from their cruise liner. To them it was a holiday, to me it looked like a prison! Locked away in their artificial world... heh ahh, maybe one day ill want one of those style holidays... couldnt think of anything worse right now
Spent the night hanging out with her and took a night walk around sleeping Lisbon then ended up lying together for ages down near the main city centre on this little spot of sand and concrete... put me in such a good head space, was so happy. Heh also meant that I only got 45 minutes sleep that night...

This blog btw is part me just blabbing, part what I think my folks and others may want to hear about (and what I wanna tell people), part me trying to record my opinions and thoughts and stuff to see how they evolve during my trip to see if and how it changes me, and part just a good place to stick photos. Hence, its gonna get chunky at times.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Elevator mountainElevator mountain
Elevator mountain

I need to find out what this was... thats an elevator going up the sheer cliff, cut into it... at least i think it is
Nice colourful buildingsNice colourful buildings
Nice colourful buildings

just a pretty shot from the waterfront
Tiled buildingsTiled buildings
Tiled buildings

The tiled front of a couple of buildings that I was talking about, although many had them covering their whole wall.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb