Second day around Lisbon, beach time!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The day that time forgot... i wrote this blog but had PC problems and it musta never saved =( so here again...

Tim version:
* Headed to Cascais beach, cool but didnt help my thirst for waves.
* Forriaged for food around town and talked to Nancy tonnes about surfing.

Kinda long version:

Managed to get my ass outta bed about 9:30 for a wicked breakfast of scrambled eggs, toast, cereal and stuff and surprisingly had no hangover (at least not yet). Heading to the beach today!! Its a beach called cascais, abut 25 minutes away by train from Lisbon up the coast. Its nice but is just a european family style beach with its non existent waves (usually a winning point for a spot for a family I guess) and organised kinda rows going on of people. Having bars and all that right next to it is kinda handy though so I'll give it that! Headed down there with a group of 4 others from the hostel, Carly Bartholemew Chris and another dude I cant remember the name of, who were talking about going yesterday, and glad I did to see a bit more of the place as I had no plans today. I was so so happy to be back in the water, despite the fact that it froze your particulars off (its a really cold ocean over here). The down side of doin that every now and again was I forgot how much I was burning aye =( Got a little toasted... ah well, my first layer of my summer coat! Not much to say about up there but that its nice but not worth more than an hour or two probably, heh but thats just coz with the best beaches in the world in Oz its pretty hard to be amazed by them elsewhere I reckon! The walk back down the coast a bit was sweet too, would be more likely to do that again...

Anyway, did that, done that, beach box ticked but now I want waves real bad! Started talking to Nancy about surfing and stuff back at Oasis probably about 9 or something and that helped ease it a little. If you cant have em, the next best thing is just dreaming and talking about em! We went to forriage for food around Lisbon for a few hours and managed to wander a fair chunk of the place and its really pretty at night too. Ended up eating maybe 11pm? Yeh, probably around then, and had a wicked juicy Portuguese style steak, was so good! Just opposite the big Indian train station for future reference too =)

Back at the hostel we expected everyone to be up again drinking and lively but it was dead as! Ended up watching surf movies on the tiny little screen of my zen with nancy and meditation dude for a few hours before crashing, so while a chilled out slow day it was still good fun...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb