Bergen home of the fjords, mini markets, hills and rain!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Bergen
November 15th 2012
Published: December 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Best way I can describe Bergen, it is a picturesque city (however it looks and feels more like a small beautiful village) inundated with mini markets every few metres (kiwi, rema, rimi, 7eleven, coop, spar to name but a few).

In light of my previous city breaks in October, it would be fair to say I should have expected the weather to be similar, i.e. wet....but the naive optimist in me tried to hold on to the notion that October was not the Scandinavian norm....how wrong can you get! Locals in Bergen wear head to toe gortex / waterproofs and look prepared for anything the elements throw at them. I on the other hand was only semi-prepared, so I was totally relieved I brought extra clothes, that way I remained dry throughout the trip.

Due to the poor weather my planned activities of walking up the surrounding hills (there are 7 of them, not that I could see them with the low cloud cover) and catching glimpses of the fjords had to be revised.....instead I walked round the many qaint parts of the city and harbour and took a boat trip south to see some of the fjords.

The myriad of mini markets came in very handy since frequent cafe lates & buns kept me warm and fed throughout the day.

P.S. Anyone who complains about the weather should visit Bergen to put life into perspective!


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb